Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2013, 06:23 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 425

My System Specs

Default Gigabye HD7950 length

I read some user reviews (mainly from NCIX forum) that Gigabyte HD7950 or the HD7870 are too long for a mid tower case (both of these have 3 fans). I have a mid tower CM690 case. Will I have trouble installing any of these 2 video cards? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2013, 06:39 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,211

My System Specs

Default

The CM 690(II) is a decently large case that should have no problem fitting large cards. I have personally fit cards ranging from a Powercolor 7950 to an EVGA GTX295 (super long dual-gpu card) without any problems at all. If you want a number, you can fit graphics cards that are up to 13" in length. You shouldn't have any problems fitting any card of your choice into your enclosure.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2013, 06:43 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 59

My System Specs

Default

You shouldn't have any issues with that card. I have personally had a Gigabyte 7950 and I doubt you would have any problems in that case.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2013, 06:46 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 425

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for your quick responses, today is the last day for the sale of GB HD7950 with 2 games, although the price has been the same at $290 for the last while.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2013, 05:17 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,825

My System Specs

Default

Choose A Video Card - PCPartPicker Canada
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2013, 07:19 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 425

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for the link. NCIX does have the XFX HD 7950 for $270, but it has only 1 fan which I do not like. Besides there were no user reviews, indicating that it is not a popular card.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2013, 08:12 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,825

My System Specs

Default

also involves an MIR, but always good to check.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2013, 08:40 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 427

My System Specs

Default

my gigabyte windforce is ~11 inches
__________________
i7 2700k - 7950 3GB crossfire - 4GB 1866 CL8 - 1600p
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2013, 11:07 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 425

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TedShackley View Post
my gigabyte windforce is ~11 inches
Thanks. Here is a photo of my case with GB mobo, which has 4 banks of SATA terminals at the edge. These SATA terminals are 2 banks high. The HD7950 has to extend beyond these SATA terminals which maybe be a problem unless the HD 7950 can sit higher above the SATA terminals. Sorry I can't explain too well, may be you can see it in the photo.

Do you think it will work? I have ordered it and received notice to pick it up from the local store here in Toronto, but if it does not fit, I'll have to rma it.

DSCF1112 | Flickr - Photo Sharing!


Edit: got a reply from NCIX, "The video card will clear the SATA ports. Basically, you will need to remove the video card to unplug any devices from the motherboard end if the cables use locking clips. This is normal with pretty much any current motherboard. "

Last edited by Chris; February 14, 2013 at 06:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2013, 12:35 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,825

My System Specs

Default

Should be fine if they are angled / nothing plugged in. (can't see the pics)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD7950 vs GTX660Ti great_big_abyss Video Cards 18 January 18, 2013 11:58 PM
AMD HD7950 boost state Chris Video Cards 3 January 3, 2013 04:28 PM
Anywhere to check length of PSU cables? [nK]Sharp Troubleshooting 3 September 10, 2012 04:55 PM
swiftech screw length vinsonnguyen Air Cooling 20 December 29, 2011 04:58 PM
Search string length zlojack Suggestions & Feedback 2 November 14, 2008 02:31 PM