Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2013, 08:35 AM
BVickery's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 117

My System Specs

Default Friends new system

Ok, friend is putting together a nice new system.

Originally she wanted 660 (NON-ti) to run dual 30-32" monitors. I am thinking a 670 at min. and possibly even a 680. Got a few thinking the 660 will be fine.

As far as resolutions looking at either 2560x1600 (30") Not sure on the 32".

Last edited by BVickery; February 7, 2013 at 09:01 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2013, 08:51 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,208

My System Specs

Default

is she gaming? What is she doing with the rig? If she's not gaming, a 660 will be more than enough to run dual 32" monitors.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2013, 08:52 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,070

My System Specs

Default

What resolutions are the monitors and what is she running on them?

For ordinary office use, I've got a site that runs dual 1920x1080 monitors off a HD4350 with no problems. Gaming use, I'd tend to agree that a 670 would be required for decent frame rates in most modern games.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2013, 08:53 AM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,320

My System Specs

Default

I have used my 660 TF OC to run 2 27" 1080p screens and it didnt do half bad if I had to pay for the card I would of bumped up to the 660 ti for 2 screens.
__________________
Follow us on facebook at https://www.facebook.com/realhardwarereviews?ref=hl
Site and Forum online
http://forums.realhardwarereviews.com/index.php
Contests will be done on there from now on :)
http://realhardwarereviews.com/
Always up for a Beer in Calgary or Area

“Two possibilities exist: either we are alone in the Universe or we are not. Both are equally terrifying.”
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2013, 08:58 AM
BVickery's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 117

My System Specs

Default

As I said, this is for a gaming rig. And she does like her eye candy.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2013, 09:00 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,070

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BVickery View Post
Ok, friend is putting together a nice new system.

Originally she wanted 660 (NON-ti) to run dual 30-32" monitors. I am thinking a 670 at min. and possibly even a 680. Got a few thinking the 660 will be fine.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BVickery View Post
As I said, this is for a gaming rig. And she does like her eye candy.
Actually, you didn't say. That's why 2 people asked.

And I agree with you, 670 or up.

Edit: Although I'd really be tempted to go with a 7970.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2013, 09:04 AM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,320

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
Actually, you didn't say. That's why 2 people asked.

And I agree with you, 670 or up.

Edit: Although I'd really be tempted to go with a 7970.
Agreed there for multi LCD I think AMD does it a bit better but thats just me, I still use my 6970 for 3 LCDS any day over even my 680 I sold on here as it AMD seems to handle the multi screen setup better.
__________________
Follow us on facebook at https://www.facebook.com/realhardwarereviews?ref=hl
Site and Forum online
http://forums.realhardwarereviews.com/index.php
Contests will be done on there from now on :)
http://realhardwarereviews.com/
Always up for a Beer in Calgary or Area

“Two possibilities exist: either we are alone in the Universe or we are not. Both are equally terrifying.”
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2013, 09:11 AM
BVickery's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 117

My System Specs

Default

Thanks a ton.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2013, 11:16 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,657

My System Specs

Default

7970 all the way for that res, better value and the 3GB will be used (if not right away then at minimum in a year or so)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2013, 11:33 AM
Manufacturer Rep
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 77

My System Specs

Default

I personally think the ultimate bang for the buck right now is an SLI setup with a pair of our GTX 660 GCs:

Galaxy GeForce GTX 660 GC 1006MHZ 2GB 6.0GHZ GDDR5 2xDVI HDMI DisplayPort PCI-E Video Card
Amazon.com: Galaxy GeForce GTX 660 GC 2 GB GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 DVI/DVI/HDMI/DP SLI Ready Graphics Card 66NPH7DN6ZVZ: Computers & Accessories
Newegg.com - Galaxy 66NPH7DN6ZVZ GeForce GTX 660 GC 2GB 192-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card

I tested these myself for a while and I can't think of any other time I've run in SLI without any heat issues whatsoever despite my having no space between cards. For less than $400 total they also gave about 20% more performance on average than a single overclocked 680. I was really impressed overall.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Battlefield Friends Arinoth Off Topic 0 May 7, 2012 04:53 AM
Words with Friends headsh0t Gaming 2 March 23, 2011 03:40 PM
crow and cat best friends cmac79 Off Topic 3 November 27, 2010 10:03 AM
RTS Xfire friends Mr. Gruntsworthy Gaming 13 March 9, 2010 11:23 AM
AMD makes some friends magictorch Press Releases & Tech News 8 January 27, 2008 09:33 AM