Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2013, 05:49 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,680
Default HIS Launches World’s First 4GB HD 7850

The HD 7850 4GB IceQ Turbo 4GB features a massive amount of memory, higher clock speeds, leading edge overclocking capabilities and upgraded components.

Read more here: HIS Launches World's First 4GB HD 7850 | Hardware Canucks
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2013, 06:13 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,211

My System Specs

Default

Why? Just, Why? There's no way a 7850 would have the power, even in Crossfire to fill up 4GB of VRAM....
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2013, 06:17 AM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,566

My System Specs

Default

8192MB texture packs @ 4k of course.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2013, 06:22 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,680
Default

IMO, you'll see a lot of these cards in the next while as the current generation hangs around longer than usual....
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2013, 06:29 AM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,566

My System Specs

Default

Yes, I suppose they have to keep coming up with gimmicks till the new ships dock.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2013, 06:49 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,211

My System Specs

Default

It's just a fancy number to dupe consumers who don't know any better into spending more money. 4GB must be better than 2GB, right?

Now, what they could do is launch Crossfire/SLI on a stick for each core. Have a twin-7850, twin-7870, twin-7950 card, etc, all at different price points, with efficient coolers, and slightly cheaper than buying 2x the respective cards.

That may be something worth looking at.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2013, 07:52 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,955

My System Specs

Default

It will zero real world impact on anything. If it comes at the same price as a 2gb in may be a selling point, otherwise its a moot point.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2013, 11:19 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,591

My System Specs

Default

It's to drum up sales for those who aren't very informed, thinking they NEED 4GB vRAM while running at 1080p or lower resolutions...
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2013, 02:13 PM
bigFOIG's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 426

My System Specs

Default

I would think that this would help in high-resolution/multi-monitor set-ups?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2013, 02:22 PM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,211

My System Specs

Default

But here's the problem, even 2x 7850's will have difficulty pushing out enough pixels to keep 4GB worth of screen real estate occupied.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
gpu + cpu bottlenecks? dual 7850 in crossfire and i5-3570k (when it launches) andyhan95 Video Cards 2 April 15, 2012 06:58 PM
Pricing on now released & available 7850 / 7850 cards terrybear Video Cards 11 March 22, 2012 04:13 PM
MSI Launches the World's First PCI Express Gen.3 Mainboard Sam_Reynolds Press Releases & Tech News 6 July 7, 2011 08:18 AM
MSI Launches the World?s First PCI Express Gen.3 Mainboard Sam_Reynolds Press Releases & Tech News 0 July 4, 2011 07:00 AM
NVIDIA Launches The World's First Interactive Ray Tracing Engine Gav Press Releases & Tech News 1 August 5, 2009 03:53 PM