Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 31, 2013, 05:08 PM
OC-Guru's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: London, UK
Posts: 121

My System Specs

Default Problem with GPU or drivers?

Hi guys..

I recently bought a Gigabyte Radeon HD 7850 OC, at 1st I experienced game graphical glitches / gray overlay PC lockups.. after a while these problems have gone, but I recently tried running ALLBenchmark Cat(something) ,, and this.. is the results. (in 720p mode).. I have not tried 3D mark but I can tell you unique heaven DX11 benchmark works fantastic.. them graphics :o

Thanks in advance for any feedback

wtf.. problem with the GPU? - YouTube
__________________
Gaming rig: UNDER CONSTRUCTION!
Wife's rig / D3 Bot PC: 2x Xeon E5335 @ 2Ghz (8C/8T) | 24GB DDR2 RAM | ASUS GTS 450 1GB | HP OEM Socket 771 Motherboard | 4x Seagate ST9900805SS RAID0
D3 BT - Crispe#2349 (EU) - add me! :)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 31, 2013, 05:40 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,302

My System Specs

Default

I am not sure but it could depend on the game or games you are playing, I have played a few games and the only game so far where I have had a lock up or actual allot of lock ups freeze is farcry3 maybe check your heat
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2013, 12:52 AM
OC-Guru's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: London, UK
Posts: 121

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowmeph View Post
I am not sure but it could depend on the game or games you are playing, I have played a few games and the only game so far where I have had a lock up or actual allot of lock ups freeze is farcry3 maybe check your heat
Temps are fine, they don't push above 60c.. infact idle it sits around 20-25c.. Far cry 3 runs fine for me?

Thanks for the feedback.
__________________
Gaming rig: UNDER CONSTRUCTION!
Wife's rig / D3 Bot PC: 2x Xeon E5335 @ 2Ghz (8C/8T) | 24GB DDR2 RAM | ASUS GTS 450 1GB | HP OEM Socket 771 Motherboard | 4x Seagate ST9900805SS RAID0
D3 BT - Crispe#2349 (EU) - add me! :)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2013, 02:12 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 700

My System Specs

Default

I think i'm almost sure it's the card,actually the overclock does support games but not benchmarks,it's too hard,so i suggest you try with an older version of Catalyst,but it's probably the card. Test the same benchmarks without overclock.If it runs fine, it's the card

Heaven bench is more like a game.

Actually,a PC lockup IN a benchmark looks like it's the card...Never seen artifacts like that tho...

Last edited by bliz; February 1, 2013 at 02:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2013, 07:20 AM
OC-Guru's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: London, UK
Posts: 121

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bliz View Post
I think i'm almost sure it's the card,actually the overclock does support games but not benchmarks,it's too hard,so i suggest you try with an older version of Catalyst,but it's probably the card. Test the same benchmarks without overclock.If it runs fine, it's the card

Heaven bench is more like a game.

Actually,a PC lockup IN a benchmark looks like it's the card...Never seen artifacts like that tho...
it wasn't the PC that locked up in the benchmarks, the PC used to lockup at any given time, regardless of if I was staring at the desktop or anything.. for example if I fullscreened someone that was sharing their screen with me on skype, it would sometimes crash, if I shared my screen with someone on skype, it would crash.. but them problems are no longer existent since the 13.1 driver.
__________________
Gaming rig: UNDER CONSTRUCTION!
Wife's rig / D3 Bot PC: 2x Xeon E5335 @ 2Ghz (8C/8T) | 24GB DDR2 RAM | ASUS GTS 450 1GB | HP OEM Socket 771 Motherboard | 4x Seagate ST9900805SS RAID0
D3 BT - Crispe#2349 (EU) - add me! :)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2013, 09:20 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 700

My System Specs

Default

Ah ok i thought it was during benchmarks...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2013, 05:13 PM
OC-Guru's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: London, UK
Posts: 121

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bliz View Post
Ah ok i thought it was during benchmarks...
I'm no entirely sure on where the issue lays
__________________
Gaming rig: UNDER CONSTRUCTION!
Wife's rig / D3 Bot PC: 2x Xeon E5335 @ 2Ghz (8C/8T) | 24GB DDR2 RAM | ASUS GTS 450 1GB | HP OEM Socket 771 Motherboard | 4x Seagate ST9900805SS RAID0
D3 BT - Crispe#2349 (EU) - add me! :)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2013, 05:57 PM
bigFOIG's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 426

My System Specs

Default

Try underclocking it as far as it will go and see if it happens.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 2, 2013, 04:47 AM
OC-Guru's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: London, UK
Posts: 121

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigFOIG View Post
Try underclocking it as far as it will go and see if it happens.
Okay will do, thanks :)
__________________
Gaming rig: UNDER CONSTRUCTION!
Wife's rig / D3 Bot PC: 2x Xeon E5335 @ 2Ghz (8C/8T) | 24GB DDR2 RAM | ASUS GTS 450 1GB | HP OEM Socket 771 Motherboard | 4x Seagate ST9900805SS RAID0
D3 BT - Crispe#2349 (EU) - add me! :)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2013, 10:20 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2
Default

Hi I was just wondering if you found a solution to this problem? I have the same motherboard and Video card and I'm having similar issues.
I hope are computers similarities are just a coincidence. Because I just bought a new Gigabyte Radion HD 7850 OC 2GB and it should be in sometime tomorrow.

I'll post back to let you all know if the new card fixes the problem. If not I'll have to send it back as well and get a completely different card.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
eyefinity monitor flicker problem with new drivers ultraman7k Troubleshooting 2 January 22, 2011 07:00 AM
nvidia drivers with ati drivers. kyle_L O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 January 8, 2010 10:05 PM
ati drivers atikmdag fixed but new problem. stormkiller22 Troubleshooting 9 September 23, 2008 06:35 PM
EUE problem - G8800 GTX, 177.92 drivers and 6.2 GPU client Dwayne HardwareCanucks F@H Team 3 September 7, 2008 08:40 AM
Aspect Ratio Problem despite new ATI drivers richa2002 Troubleshooting 2 June 14, 2008 09:28 PM