Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2013, 10:35 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,615

My System Specs

Default Intel HD Graphics 4000 vs AMD Mobility 5470

Simply put, which is better? I'm craving a new laptop right now and Best Buy has plenty of Ultrabook deals. There's nothing wrong with my Acer 3820TG mind you and I still love it very much, except when I'm at school, half the time,WiFi does not work because the Qualcomm Atheros R5B97 chip sucks!

I'm looking to play Diablo 3, League of Legends, and any other low powered games on the laptop. I got my trust desktop for the major titles that I would never think of playing at school or on the go.

Notebookcheck has the 5470 put as a Class 4 GPU while the Intel HD Graphics 4000 is a Class 3, which theoretically means it's faster.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2013, 05:41 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,404
Default

The HD 5470M is marginally faster than the Intel HD 4000 but you will get substantially better battery life with the single-chip Intel solution.

On the flip side, AMD's mobile GPU drivers are miles ahead of Intel's so you can expect better game compatibility.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2013, 05:42 AM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 48
Default

Why not just replace the wifi card on the old laptop if that's the only thing wrong with it? (Unless of course you're just looking for an excuse to get new toys )

I did it with my 3830TG - took 5 mins and a screwdriver!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2013, 08:33 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,227

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
The HD 5470M is marginally faster than the Intel HD 4000 but you will get substantially better battery life with the single-chip Intel solution.

On the flip side, AMD's mobile GPU drivers are miles ahead of Intel's so you can expect better game compatibility.
I'm not a big fan of AMD's mobility drivers.... my 6500M series laptop does not work well with new drivers when it comes to switching between low power and high power GFX. I've pretty much had to stick with the drivers that shipped with it.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2013, 09:10 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,614

My System Specs

Default

They should be very close to the same. The 5470 will consume more power, but have better drivers. The 4000 will use less power, but has slower driver updates. I would go for the integrated given the 5470 is getting close to EOL.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Gigabyte Z77-D3H, i5 3570K with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb 1600mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2013, 10:42 AM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,615

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus2002 View Post
Why not just replace the wifi card on the old laptop if that's the only thing wrong with it? (Unless of course you're just looking for an excuse to get new toys )

I did it with my 3830TG - took 5 mins and a screwdriver!
Where did you buy a new WiFi card? And which one did you buy? I'd much rather replace a WiFi card then buy a new laptop. I already have more computers than people in the house... Plus I love how I can get a good 5h minimum when taking notes and surfing the Internet. My laptop is 2 years old around and if I can make it to 7 years like my Acer Aspire 5601...

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
I'm not a big fan of AMD's mobility drivers.... my 6500M series laptop does not work well with new drivers when it comes to switching between low power and high power GFX. I've pretty much had to stick with the drivers that shipped with it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond007 View Post
They should be very close to the same. The 5470 will consume more power, but have better drivers. The 4000 will use less power, but has slower driver updates. I would go for the integrated given the 5470 is getting close to EOL.
I modded the BIOS for my 3820TG so I can use the latest drivers without having to worrying about not being able to use new drivers, as I can switch and disable/enable the 5470 in the BIOS. Having said that, the 5470 is EOL and there's no more new Catalyst drivers available. Well last I checked anyways.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2013, 10:48 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,227

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla View Post
Where did you buy a new WiFi card? And which one did you buy? I'd much rather replace a WiFi card then buy a new laptop. I already have more computers than people in the house... Plus I love how I can get a good 5h minimum when taking notes and surfing the Internet. My laptop is 2 years old around and if I can make it to 7 years like my Acer Aspire 5601...




I modded the BIOS for my 3820TG so I can use the latest drivers without having to worrying about not being able to use new drivers, as I can switch and disable/enable the 5470 in the BIOS. Having said that, the 5470 is EOL and there's no more new Catalyst drivers available. Well last I checked anyways.
Like this? TP-Link TL-WN861N Wireless MINI-PCI Network Adapter 802.11B/G/N MIMO 2T2R ?

searching for "mini PCI wireless" should get you a few hits. :)
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2013, 01:10 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,615

My System Specs

Default

I think what I need is a mini PCI-E right? Intel Network ADVANCED-N 6235 11A/G /N 2.4/5GHZ Dual Band Bluetooth WiFi Card Mini PCIe Half High or Canada Computers | Wireless Mini Card Adapters

Review Acer Aspire 3820TG Subnotebook (i5/HD5650) - Notebookcheck.net Reviews

Quote:
An access opening at the bottom offers the option of upgrading hardware: hard drive, RAM, WLAN module (mini PCIe Half Size). A Mini PCI slot appears to be free but there's no port to the mainboard soldered on.
__________________

Last edited by geokilla; January 22, 2013 at 01:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2013, 01:23 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,227

My System Specs

Default

Heh... good catch, I missed that even though I was looking at a different intel card that is also PCIe. :)

Did you have a look at the current card just to be sure?
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2013, 01:27 PM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,289

My System Specs

Default

Geo I think I have a few of those wireless cards in a box PM me I will send you a few :)
__________________
Follow us on facebook at https://www.facebook.com/realhardwarereviews?ref=hl
Site and Forum online
http://forums.realhardwarereviews.com/index.php
Contests will be done on there from now on :)
http://realhardwarereviews.com/
Always up for a Beer in Calgary or Area

“Two possibilities exist: either we are alone in the Universe or we are not. Both are equally terrifying.”
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel HD Graphics good enough? Marute Video Cards 10 December 4, 2012 07:53 AM
is intel hd 4000 work with discrete gpu yehia7000 CPU's and Motherboards 4 July 25, 2012 09:41 AM
Intel HD Graphics with Graphics Card MoUnit CPU's and Motherboards 4 August 6, 2011 03:54 PM
ATI 5470m vs Intel HD graphics foxman Video Cards 4 June 16, 2010 06:56 PM