Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2013, 03:59 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Virginia, USA!
Posts: 88

My System Specs

Default Worth upgrading my Radeon 5750?

Hi all!
I currently have a good old radeon 5750. I gets decent fps in the only game I play, BF3 so that's not a reason to upgrade. How much more efficient are the newer cards heat and power wise? I'm not sure I have a problem with what I have now but if something newer is a ton better than I might look into upgrading. The only problem is I would only have around $125 to spend so would it be worth it for me to even upgrade at all?
Thanks!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2013, 04:05 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,608

My System Specs

Default

Realistically if you are happy with the performance of your card then there is not much point in upgrading. That said with your budget you could go to a hd 7770 which would be a noticeable boost in fps with similar power use.

If your just after power and heat savings I wouldn't bother as your card doesn't use that much to start with.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Gigabyte Z77-D3H, i5 3570K with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb 1600mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2013, 06:52 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 694

My System Specs

Default

for 120$, you can get things around 20 to 40% better and faster. Up to you now, do you really want one...

If u buy one,take a GTX 650 i'd say...but it's not 2x faster,the best would be to find a cheap 560ti...

and your actual card uses around 20% more watts than the 650
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2013, 07:41 PM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond007 View Post
If your just after power and heat savings I wouldn't bother as your card doesn't use that much to start with.
Bingo. There is no card that you could buy that would give you any noticeable power savngs. Might as well just continue to run the 5750 until it no longer runs the games you want to play.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2013, 07:42 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Virginia, USA!
Posts: 88

My System Specs

Default

Okay sounds good, Thanks guys!
What are decent temps for my GPU? 60C after playing for about an hour sound okay?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2013, 07:47 PM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evil Genius Jr. View Post
Okay sounds good, Thanks guys!
What are decent temps for my GPU? 60C after playing for about an hour sound okay?
Yeah 60 degrees is a good temperature.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2013, 07:56 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 1,960

My System Specs

Default

try a can off air ??

Take card out off case and give a good dusting out let any moisture from canned air dry and then reinstall.
( hold fan so it doesn't spin wile blowing )
depending how dusty do every 6 months or so.
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2013, 02:50 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,608

My System Specs

Default

Yeah if you have had it a while make sure the fan is clean of dirt and dust.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Gigabyte Z77-D3H, i5 3570K with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb 1600mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2013, 05:06 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Virginia, USA!
Posts: 88

My System Specs

Default

Okay, sounds good. I'll give it a shot. Are there any quiet aftermarket coolers or am I going to have to figure something out. I'm working on a quiet build and the fan is a lot louder than my quiet fans. I have a Sapphire edition.
Thanks!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2013, 08:15 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,608

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evil Genius Jr. View Post
Okay, sounds good. I'll give it a shot. Are there any quiet aftermarket coolers or am I going to have to figure something out. I'm working on a quiet build and the fan is a lot louder than my quiet fans. I have a Sapphire edition.
Thanks!
Use MSI after burner (a program) to make a custom fan profile to balance noise and temperature. But as I said before make sure the heat sink is clean or the fan will have to work harder to keep temps down.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Gigabyte Z77-D3H, i5 3570K with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb 1600mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading from oc'ed i5-750, worth it yet? Skyllz CPU's and Motherboards 14 August 16, 2012 04:23 PM
HD Radeon 5750 Help Sirnmason Video Cards 2 December 8, 2011 05:11 PM
Help! My Radeon 5750 doesn't have any PCI-X Power conn. Can i CF? 71Baker Video Cards 10 June 7, 2010 12:03 AM
Is it worth Upgrading to 8gb of ram jasonmoreau RAM 12 April 10, 2008 11:55 PM