Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2013, 09:17 PM
BradM's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Peterborough Ontario
Posts: 34

My System Specs

Question EVGA Geforce GTX 560 help?

Hello....
Thanks for welcoming me to the forums.

My question is should i upgrade my graphic card to a higher card? I am currently using a EVGA Geforce GTX 560 1GB graphics card on a BenQ 27 inch monitor 1920x1080 resolution. It seems like its really stressing the card on some games as i like to play games on very high resolution, sometimes red dots appear on the monitor or the game will lag once for like a second every hour of playing. So is this card good for this screen or should i consider upgrading my card to say a 570 or 580? The game i am currently having this problem on is GTA4, but i don't understand why it is doing this because i have way more than enough performance specs then what the game calls for. GTA4 for pc requires Windows Vista service pack 1 or XP service pack 3, an Intel Core 2 Duo 1.8Ghz or AMD Anthlon X2 64 2.4Ghz, 1.5Gb vista/1Gb XP, Video card - 256Mb NVIDIA 7900/ or 256Mb ATI X1900.

My Specs are:
Windows 7 64 Bit Service pack 1
Intel Core 2 Quad 2.66Ghz @ 3.33Ghz completely stable 100%
6Gb of Adata Ram
EVGA Geforce GTX 560 1Gb Video card GDDR5
BenQ GW2750 specs at this link BenQ GW2750HM Review

So what i really want to know is my Graphics card good enough to play on a 27 inch monitor on 1920x1080 resolution?

Thank you for looking at this post, hope someone can help me out!!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2013, 04:14 PM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Silkeborg, Denmark
Posts: 1

My System Specs

Default

Hi BradM.

Im sure you wanna upgrade the processor before you upgrade your graphic card. :-)
The Core2Quad is an old lady and is bottlenecking the GTX560.


Ru88er-DucK
First post yahoo! ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2013, 04:36 PM
BradM's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Peterborough Ontario
Posts: 34

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ru88er-DucK View Post
Hi BradM.

Im sure you wanna upgrade the processor before you upgrade your graphic card. :-)
The Core2Quad is an old lady and is bottlenecking the GTX560.


Ru88er-DucK
First post yahoo! ;-)
Thanks for replying and maybe but according to the benchmark program in gta 4 that benchmarks everything to see what your using it only says im using 50 percent of my cpu and 50 percent of my ram and 100 of my video card but back to what you were saying how does the cpu bottleneck the graphics card? Thanks for your response Ru88er-DucK!! :)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2013, 04:37 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,536

My System Specs

Default

GTA4 is terribly optimized for PC, upgrading your PC won't net you much performance.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2013, 04:51 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,887

My System Specs

Default

For GTA4 your computer is more than able to handle everything the game can dish out. I wouldn't bother upgrading for that game. When you do upgrade I would agree that a cpu/motherboard/ram upgrade should come before another graphics card.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2013, 05:04 PM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,565

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ru88er-DucK View Post
Hi BradM.

Im sure you wanna upgrade the processor before you upgrade your graphic card. :-)
The Core2Quad is an old lady and is bottlenecking the GTX560.
She is an old bird that still kicks ass. My Q6600 still pushes the info to mu GPU at 1080p in 64 player BF3.

@Brad As for the red dots, I'm not sure. Is the card overclocked? Sounds like the GPU is toast. I would recommend getting a GPU with at least 2Gb's of vram. especially if you want higher resolutions and eye candy. But at only 1080p you should be OK.

Have another GPU you can test with? The CPU is long in the tooth but until you run into situations where your CPU is struggling and your GPU is bored you'll be fine with it. Just turn down the settings until you can afford to upgrade your entire system. Haswell is coming.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2013, 05:06 PM
BradM's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Peterborough Ontario
Posts: 34

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond007 View Post
For GTA4 your computer is more than able to handle everything the game can dish out. I wouldn't bother upgrading for that game. When you do upgrade I would agree that a cpu/motherboard/ram upgrade should come before another graphics card.
Yes i have been thinking of it for a while Bond007, i was thinking of building an AMD system, because an AMD processor isn't as costly as an Intel processor. Thanks for your reply, much appreciated.

-BradM-
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2013, 05:10 PM
BradM's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Peterborough Ontario
Posts: 34

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by supaflyx3 View Post
GTA4 is terribly optimized for PC, upgrading your PC won't net you much performance.
That seems to be true as i have read a lot of reviews on the game in the past and where people said they were having problems on there system and they had the new i7, 580 etc, basically a really high end gaming system. So it could just be the game i just hope GTA 5 isn't like that. Thanks for your reply supaflyx3 much appreciated!!!

-BradM-
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2013, 05:14 PM
BradM's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Peterborough Ontario
Posts: 34

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IRQ Conflict View Post
She is an old bird that still kicks ass. My Q6600 still pushes the info to mu GPU at 1080p in 64 player BF3.

@Brad As for the red dots, I'm not sure. Is the card overclocked? Sounds like the GPU is toast. I would recommend getting a GPU with at least 2Gb's of vram. especially if you want higher resolutions and eye candy. But at only 1080p you should be OK.

Have another GPU you can test with? The CPU is long in the tooth but until you run into situations where your CPU is struggling and your GPU is bored you'll be fine with it. Just turn down the settings until you can afford to upgrade your entire system. Haswell is coming.
Yes I agree it is a very amazing CPU for its age and i may of found the problem to as why the red dots were appearing, i noticed that i had unistalled precision x, it comes with EVGA cards, and what i noticed was thst the fan didnt speed up as the GPU got hot so the fan was only spinning at around 1000Rpm when it should be kicking up as the GPU gets hotter so i fxed that and now the fan amps up to keep the card cool, so im just playing right now to see if the red dots come back, and yes 2gb or higher Vram would be better. Thanks for the reply IRQ Conflict

-BradM-
Only time will tell!!!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2013, 06:00 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,887

My System Specs

Default

you can still survive with 1gb video cards (mine is a gtx 460 768mb)...it just means in you have to ditch settings like anti-aliasing/supersampling/etc on new vram heavy games (many games its not a factor at all).


Quote:
Originally Posted by BradM View Post
Yes i have been thinking of it for a while Bond007, i was thinking of building an AMD system, because an AMD processor isn't as costly as an Intel processor. Thanks for your reply, much appreciated.

-BradM-
AMD processors are cheaper, but they are also more power hungry and not up to par in gaming compared to their intel counterparts. I have AMD in my computer now, but they are not the way to go for a gaming computer at this point in time (unless its only low game settings that you require, in which case AMD APU are great).
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASUS ENGTX580 DCII vs EVGA EVGA GeForce GTX 580 DS Superclocked MrSpeaker Video Cards 11 November 8, 2011 02:21 PM
EVGA Announces the EVGA GeForce GTX 580 Classified! onethreehill Video Cards 7 September 24, 2011 04:36 PM
Sli Evga GeForce GTX 570 Logger Video Cards 8 December 17, 2010 03:44 PM
EVGA Geforce GTX 470 SC+ ? Alwaysrun Video Cards 4 June 15, 2010 04:33 PM
EVGA E-GEFORCE GTX 280..... only $849.99!!!!! Killswitch Off Topic 19 July 25, 2008 09:59 AM