Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2013, 08:17 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 10
Default Sli Problem

hei, i have just bought a new gtx 570 and i want to run them in sli. When i try to enable sli the resolution drops to 800x600 and i the Nvidia control panel crashes and i have to reinstall the drivers.
i have tried to reinstall windows, and both cards works just fine by them selves
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2013, 08:34 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

I've never seen that before. You'll probably get a better answer on the geforce forums.

https://forums.geforce.com/
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2013, 09:00 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,577
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andreasgronfur View Post
hei, i have just bought a new gtx 570 and i want to run them in sli. When i try to enable sli the resolution drops to 800x600 and i the Nvidia control panel crashes and i have to reinstall the drivers.
i have tried to reinstall windows, and both cards works just fine by them selves
Are the cards exactly the same spec for for spec or is there any slight difference?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2013, 09:17 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 10
Default

yes, i have one of them are slightly higer clocked, i have placed that ontop
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2013, 09:51 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,577
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andreasgronfur View Post
yes, i have one of them are slightly higer clocked, i have placed that ontop
the order does not matter. that small detail could be your problem
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2013, 09:56 AM
WhippWhapp's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 188

My System Specs

Default

Check/change the bridge.
__________________
I rub and whack and choke and stroke!

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2013, 09:58 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 10
Default

my friend has to cards and they are slightlyu different and that was no problem for him
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2013, 10:06 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,579

My System Specs

Default

What are the rest of your system specs?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2013, 10:09 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 10
Default

corsair hx850W, asus p67 Saberthoot, itel i5 2500K,intel 330 ssd. gtx 570 msi, gtx 570 gainward, corsair 16 bg memory
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2013, 02:36 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 25
Default

Try to remove the sli bridge, then install drivers then put the sli tab back in, there was a bug with nvidia that caused sli to be "already enabled" when it wasn't
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
control panel , crash , gtx570 , nvidia , sli

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Could a hardware problem cause a driver problem? LaughingCrow Troubleshooting 4 January 19, 2012 10:46 AM
Steam connection problem (Problem Fixed) great_big_abyss Gaming 3 January 10, 2012 04:37 PM
Hard drive problem or Windows 7 Problem?! aeminence New Builds 4 October 13, 2011 06:46 AM
could this be a game problem or a video driver problem? Shadowmeph Troubleshooting 4 December 17, 2010 06:01 AM
Hardware problem or HAL problem? andynerd Troubleshooting 1 March 7, 2009 08:03 PM