Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 26, 2012, 06:00 PM
sakage.shinga's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 215

My System Specs

Default Is it worth it to upgrade my HD6970 2GB?

Hi guys,

I currently have the option of shelling out $150 for a very slightly used GTX 670 2GB card. I currently own the Radeon HD 6970 2GB (Asus SKU), and I'm not entirely sure if it's pulling me back or not. What I've noticed is that during a lot of game cutscenes or certain panning shots in-game, the graphics will stutter ever so slightly but noticeably. I've noticed this in nearly all of my games (e.g. Shogun 2, Rage, Skyrim etc.). I can't be sure if perhaps my cpu is the culprit, or maybe my 6970 is having trouble pushing 1920x1200 (I'd have said it shouldn't have any trouble at all).

So, looking at my spec (i5-750, 8GB ram, and 6970 2GB card), do you think I'd get my money's worth if I were to switch over to nVidia 670 2GB? Or should I simply wait a few months and build an entirely new rig with an updated CPU?

At $150, it's right at the tipping point for me - not so much that I will flat out refuse, but still enough dough for me to demand noticeable improvement.

Thanks for reading!!!
__________________
Photography/Gaming build: i7-4770K, NH-D14, Z87 Sabertooth, 16GB Ripjaws X, GTX 780 OC DirectCU II 3GB, M500 480GB, Caviar Black 2TB, Dual Red 4TBx2 (RAID 1), XFX Pro 850W 80+ Gold, Graphite Series 600T SE White
HTPC build: i5-750, Hyper 212+, P7P55D Pro, 8GB Ripjaws X, R6970 DirectCU II 2GB, Caviar Black 640GB/2TB, Caviar Green 3TB, Seagate Barracuda 3TB, Strider Plus 750W, CM 690 II Advanced
Mobile Media: Asus Transformer Infinity 32GB w/ keyboard dock
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 26, 2012, 06:55 PM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,211

My System Specs

Default

150 for a used GTX 670? That's A steal of a deal. Do it
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 26, 2012, 07:01 PM
Phill's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Morden MB
Posts: 592

My System Specs

Default

heck ya!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 26, 2012, 07:22 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Dundas Ontario
Posts: 10

My System Specs

Default

you'd be crazy not to
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 26, 2012, 08:38 PM
sakage.shinga's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 215

My System Specs

Default

Now I'm worried. $150 for a card that, even on sale, goes for $300...
__________________
Photography/Gaming build: i7-4770K, NH-D14, Z87 Sabertooth, 16GB Ripjaws X, GTX 780 OC DirectCU II 3GB, M500 480GB, Caviar Black 2TB, Dual Red 4TBx2 (RAID 1), XFX Pro 850W 80+ Gold, Graphite Series 600T SE White
HTPC build: i5-750, Hyper 212+, P7P55D Pro, 8GB Ripjaws X, R6970 DirectCU II 2GB, Caviar Black 640GB/2TB, Caviar Green 3TB, Seagate Barracuda 3TB, Strider Plus 750W, CM 690 II Advanced
Mobile Media: Asus Transformer Infinity 32GB w/ keyboard dock
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2013, 08:50 AM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 744

My System Specs

Default

I know I am late to the game but my 6950 has zero issues playing Skyrim at the same res with all settings maxed so I think there is another issue with your setup.
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2013, 08:53 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,211

My System Specs

Default

Did you ever buy that card, and if you did, did it turn out okay?
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2013, 08:57 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 700

My System Specs

Default

I'd go nvidia,I know MANY people with AMD driver problems,i'm one of these^^and all my family too.(we were AMD before)

I'm not going to start a stupid debate about AMD and Nvidia but i'm gonna say that i only had one problem in my whole nvidia experience,it's the 304 nvidia drivers that were underclocking my card,and with AMD, the drivers crashed a lot.And i noticed weird things too,like stutter on some catalyst versions,but well it was when i had a 4850.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is it worth it to upgrade my GPU? Skippman Video Cards 12 October 6, 2012 03:20 PM
Upgrade to 8gb worth it? Nevakonaza RAM 11 July 5, 2011 07:41 PM
Worth the upgrade? Modus CPU's and Motherboards 2 August 23, 2010 06:27 AM
worth it to upgrade from x3-720 to X4 955? poohbear CPU's and Motherboards 8 July 16, 2010 05:55 PM
Worth the Upgrade..? r0k0 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 8 February 9, 2010 07:03 PM