Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 22, 2012, 08:08 PM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,561

My System Specs

Default GPU Scaling

I just got an GTX 295 and am trying to get the card to output widescreen to my LG 52" HDTV. Either 1050 or 1080p. The resolution is fine but the ratio seems whacked. Almost like letterbox vertically with widescreen horizontally.

I didn't run into this problem with ATI hardware. I've tried to fix it by changing resolutions, playing with the scaling options but nothing seems to fix it. I am running a DVI to HDMI cable. Driver version is 310.70.

Half of my taskbar is not showing. It's like it's stretched below the monitor. Also, the control panel is unresponsive until I bring up the task monitor. If anyone can I'd be very grateful.

Edit: I was able to manually adjust it in the size tab. Strange, I didn't have to do that with the HD5870.

Last edited by IRQ Conflict; December 22, 2012 at 08:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 22, 2012, 08:51 PM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,208

My System Specs

Default

I hope everything's okay, and that you got it resolved. I don't really have any insight as to why it's doing what it's doing though. I never ran that card in my HTPC.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 22, 2012, 09:39 PM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,561

My System Specs

Default

Yup. Thanks. I figured it out. Just strange that I have to manually adjust it.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 22, 2012, 09:50 PM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,208

My System Specs

Default

Doesn't that card have an HDMI out? If you went HDMI-HDMI it may self adjust.

Other than that, have you had a chance to game on it yet?
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 22, 2012, 11:01 PM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,561

My System Specs

Default

No. No HDMI out. Had to pick up an DVI to HDMI cable. Yes I have been playing with it. Ran BF3 Death Valley multiplayer empty server at 1080p medium settings I get about 40-60 FPS with the CPU @ 3.2Ghz. UT3 single player Torlan everything cranked and hardware physics enabled it's about 60 FPS. For shits and giggles I ran Valves "Lost Coast" everything maxed and got 146FPS.

Haven't installed many games yet. I'll check out some physx specific content as soon as I can. Been very busy. four plus hours on the road today...I'm beat.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2012, 04:57 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,226

My System Specs

Default

I had to edit the scaling on my TV to get it to work nicely with my GeForce 7900 GS, and later a GeForce 550 Ti. The TV may have some "zoom" that was a strange design idea to limit artifacts on the corners of the screen when watching broadcasts.
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2012, 08:21 AM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,561

My System Specs

Default

I'm thinking it's just a poor implementation (scaler). As my HD5870 was plug and play in the true sense of the words. iirc my X1950Pro's weren't all that great at scaling either and had to be manually adjusted.

My TV is limited to 4:3, 16:9, zoom 1 and zoom 2 or set by program. The HD5870 was very adept at scaling to whatever size without stretching. For example the GTX 295, after resizing to fit the screen gives me 1804x1004 (1080p) or 1202x768 (720p) having to shrink to fit.

Edit: reading up on the issue someone noted that before driver install there was no over/underscan issue.
so, I'm thinking it's a driver issue. But really? How long has the 295 been out?

EDIT #2:
Quote:
After a days worth of searching I have my answer

XFX confirmed that by default the HDMI is set to carry Picture and Audio. So the default on the new drivers and new cards is to 'overscan' thus sending along extra info like sound.

The resolution is to over-ride this default using the method found in the link below. The guy here lays it all out and provides pictures for you. http://forums.nvidia.com/index.php?s...dpost&p=395620

Once I had over-ridden the EDID values, rebooted and set 'native panel resolution' inside the Nvidia software all was good.
FFS.

Last edited by IRQ Conflict; December 23, 2012 at 09:11 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2012, 09:29 AM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,561

My System Specs

Default

Update. Simple fix was to choose a 16:10 resolution. Then choose an 16:9 resolution. Strange, but now the res works perfectly without overscan. Now, how can I get sound through my DVI>HDMI>HDTV?

I might have to buy Jacks headphones.

Edit: Apparently this TV's native resolution is a 1360x768. That's the res I chose before hitting the HDTV resolutions. But unticking the "enable desktop resizeing" checkbox borked it again even though it wasn't resized. Good grief!

Last edited by IRQ Conflict; December 23, 2012 at 09:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2012, 10:11 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,208

My System Specs

Default

You know, I just realized, I forgot to send you an accessory. There's a cable that goes from SPDIF on your mobo to a port on the video card. I've never used it, but it may help you figure out how to get sound off the card.
I'll throw it in an envelope and mail it today, regular snail mail.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2012, 10:43 AM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,561

My System Specs

Default

Oh? Well that would be great GBA! Thank-You very much! I'll have to look up the instructions for that. I didn't see any SPDIF connector on the card though. Are you sure?

Your going to love the HD5870's HDMI. It carries the audio as well as video to an HDMI compliant display.

Edit: This should help me get it sorted.

I think I'm getting used to the nVidia settings a bit better now. I'll do some better benches and post em somewhere. Maybe the sale thread.

Last edited by IRQ Conflict; December 23, 2012 at 10:53 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Websites and scaling muse108dc Display Units 3 February 7, 2012 07:08 AM
Windows display scaling. GT7R Troubleshooting 4 November 30, 2011 04:22 AM
lcd scaling, im confused. kyle_L Display Units 6 November 11, 2009 05:56 PM
pci-e scaling x58 vs p55 gingerbee CPU's and Motherboards 0 September 30, 2009 12:43 PM
GPU Scaling, How does it work? bushwickbill Display Units 0 April 26, 2008 08:41 AM