Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2012, 10:33 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 61

My System Specs

Default Is My PSU hurting my VC?

So I have had to RMA my new XFX Double D 7970, it was artifacting and tearing at stock speeds, and OC'ing was the pits......memory didn't OC at all even with the GPU underclocked.I got my replacement card......OCing is once again the pits.....Memory oc gives me worse performance in any Bench and the GPU jus spits out driver crashes on anything over 5mhz over stock, and tonight it started tearing.....at stock speeds and 56 Celcuis under load.Either XFX has poopy qc or I got the worst luck in cards.But I thought it could, jus could be my PSU, I have a OCZ modstream pro 700 watt. I know I know, but hardwaresecrets did not see anything major in the filtering, well it did not have the best in 12v filtering, but it was with in specs, plus i got it on sale for 60 bucks.Could my PSU be causing my new VC to act like a big pile of poo?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2012, 10:39 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,556

My System Specs

Default

It's your PSU.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2012, 10:44 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 61

My System Specs

Default

.......kinda figured......a question in the same lines......my card has ASIC rating of 58% would that limit my OC headroom, nevermind the card is hardware limited to increasing voltage.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2012, 10:47 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,784

My System Specs

Default

Short answer is that yes, a less than perfect PSU can have an affect on your vid card. Unfortunately, without a quality PSU to swap in there's no guarantee it'll resolve your issue.

Back in the day (Personal experience during the ATI 9600 or 1950pro eras), Sapphire's claim for just about any issues with certain models was that the PSU wasn't up to snuff and that they only recommended a few (I believe it was 3 different models last time I was on their forums.... ;) ) brands / models. They were half right, but weren't telling the whole story.... yes a quality PSU with very clean power could make a difference for a vid card that was failing at stock speeds, but the other part of the story was that sapphire's low quality VRMs weren't up to the task of cleaning up any dirty power at all and thus were just as guilty (V2 of the 1950pro cards had a completely revamped VRM section and voila... alll of the complaints about cards failing at stock speeds seemed to go away).

So, no guarantees, but the PSU would be the first place I'd look, especially if there doesn't seem to be a systemic problem with that particular batch / model of vid card.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 22, 2012, 01:29 AM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,572

My System Specs

Default

Hoo boy do I remember that. Greengecko would almost always parrot those talking points. It's your PSU stupid! Still one of my version 2 X1950 pro's messes up somewhat.

Sorry if I derailed this. Excuse the pun.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 22, 2012, 05:01 AM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,125

My System Specs

Default

There is no way of knowing it is your psu for sure, unless you swap it, but I would say there is a very good chance that is the culprit.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950(unlocked shaders and OC'd), Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 22, 2012, 07:08 AM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,319

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HoserEh View Post
So I have had to RMA my new XFX Double D 7970, it was artifacting and tearing at stock speeds, and OC'ing was the pits......memory didn't OC at all even with the GPU underclocked.I got my replacement card......OCing is once again the pits.....Memory oc gives me worse performance in any Bench and the GPU jus spits out driver crashes on anything over 5mhz over stock, and tonight it started tearing.....at stock speeds and 56 Celcuis under load.Either XFX has poopy qc or I got the worst luck in cards.But I thought it could, jus could be my PSU, I have a OCZ modstream pro 700 watt. I know I know, but hardwaresecrets did not see anything major in the filtering, well it did not have the best in 12v filtering, but it was with in specs, plus i got it on sale for 60 bucks.Could my PSU be causing my new VC to act like a big pile of poo?
Where on vancouver island do u live? I know I got some good psu's there that u could test and I'm in campbell river for the next 11 days.
__________________
Good Bye HWC it was great :)
Site and Forum:
http://forums.realhardwarereviews.com/index.php

If you need me the link above is where I spend my days now
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 22, 2012, 10:32 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 61

My System Specs

Default

Thank you Soullessone21 but I'm more leaning on getting a good corsair unit either way, and if the card is still Fubar I will see if NCIX will let me trade up to another model of 7970.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 22, 2012, 10:45 AM
hossdaddy's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 127
Default

heres a great psu value,
XFX 750W PRO750W Core Edition Single Rail ATX 12V 62A $79.99 - $15 mir + free game
__________________
Main System:
i5 3570k @ 4.6ghz | GA-Z77X-UD3H | Gigabyte GTX 670 | 8gb Redline 1600mhz | CM 690 | Logitech G9x | Mushkin Cronos 120gb ssd | Benq 24" | CM Hyper 212+ | Seasonic 750w | X-Fi Titanium | Sennheiser 350 | Razer blackwidow | Win 7 64-bit
Backup System:
AMD X2 7750 BE @ 3.0G | Asus M3A78-CM | 2x2gig 800mhz 4-4-4-12 | SB LIVE | Samsung 22" | Asus 9800gt | Antec NEO 620w | Logitech G5 | ThermalTake Matrix | Arctic Cooling Freezer 64
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 22, 2012, 10:57 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 61

My System Specs

Default

gaming in Firefall my 12v rail varies from 12.049 to 11.875 is that normal? the 3.3 and 5 are solid its only the 12.And thanks Hossdaddy i was looking at that exact PSU.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Microsoft Reports Hurting Apple's Feelings With Laptop Hunter Ads FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 5 August 6, 2009 12:09 AM