Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2012, 02:59 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland
Posts: 417
Default Bios update help needed - Sapphire 6870

I've been trying to find the correct bios. There is a number of cards on the sapphire site but none seem to match up with my card completely. Was hoping someone could point me to the correct update.

Catalyst info about my card:

Graphics Card Manufacturer Built by AMD
Graphics Chipset AMD Radeon HD 6800 Series
Device ID 6738
Vendor ID 1002
Subsystem ID 00D0
Subsystem Vendor ID 1002
Graphics Bus Capability PCI Express 2.0
Maximum Bus Setting PCI Express 2.0 x16
BIOS Version 013.006.000.006
BIOS Part Number 113-C2220100-104
BIOS Date 2010/10/04
Memory Size 1024 MB
Memory Type GDDR5
Core Clock in MHz 900 MHz
Memory Clock in MHz 1050 MHz
Total Memory Bandwidth in GByte/s 134.4 GByte/s

Box info:
Sku# 21179-00-40r
PN# 102-C22201-01-AT
2xMini Display, 2 DVI, 1 HDMI

AFAIK the bios is still the stock bios. As its a number of years old now it wouldn't hurt to pop the final version of the bios to the card.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks folks.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2012, 06:40 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,924
Default

try thier auto update page select auto
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2012, 07:23 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland
Posts: 417
Default

Thanks KT but I'm not looking for drivers. I'm looking for a bios/firmware update.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2012, 07:31 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,924
Default

it comes with thier drivers updates
so getting the current is done then

more important is MotherBoard firmware

first know what MB have and for some manu change hardware on MB an still keep model name only changing the Revision of MB to know difference when updating bios

if used wrong Rev MB on bios update you just made a door stop for you crammed a chevy part in a ford

Last edited by KaptCrunch; December 10, 2012 at 07:39 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2012, 09:01 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland
Posts: 417
Default

I think one of us is on a different page than the other.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2012, 11:00 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,924
Default

since your on about bring your computer firmware hardware up to date i threw in MB bios too

heres what your looking for firmwares

Note: @ own risk when flashing any firmware most are done in DOS your on own for can't guide the unknown

so yes on a different page when comes to flashing

for its not GUI app ...click its done

so read all about flashing and understand the commands
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2012, 11:11 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland
Posts: 417
Default

I'm not sure about that one either. Thats the dirt3 edition and has 2 fans, mine has the reference heatsink/casing with a blower fan. Also the sub system ID is different than whats on my card. Not sure if that matters. However the device ID is the same so I'm a bit confused.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2012, 11:33 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,924
Default

roll the dice an pick one note the Toxic bios GPU should be on dry ice cooling or gpu bye bye @ 970

if going over stock clock speeds you gonna need extra cooling on gpu
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2012, 12:45 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland
Posts: 417
Default

Oh I got extra cooling. I ripped off the reference case and mounted another fan to the heatsink while also using a spot cool 80mm fan on it as well as the stock blower. Hovers nicely around 65-70'C at load while OC'd to 960 on the gpu and 1100 on the mem using catalyst. I also put some noctua paste on the gpu chip itself to help with temps already as well.

So those bios are compatible? I don't want to do it without being sure first. I'd most likely go for the 920 one rather than the 970.
VGA Bios Collection: Sapphire HD 6870 1024 MB | techPowerUp
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sapphire or XFX radeon 6870 to crossfire guitarwiz23 Video Cards 12 December 4, 2011 12:36 PM
Sapphire 6870 Reference Insomnia9669 Price Check 2 October 7, 2011 05:28 PM
visiontek hd 6870 bios help askdealask Video Cards 6 June 26, 2011 05:42 PM
How do you update your BIOS? Gameplaywarrior CPU's and Motherboards 10 October 12, 2008 09:20 AM