Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2012, 01:23 PM
r0k0's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Posts: 713

My System Specs

Default HDMI Question

Hey guys i know it might be stupid to ask but im asking it

my 2 ATi cards have HDMI Built in, my Acer 23" screen has HDMI on it

is there a image difference from playing with HDMI cable and DVI-D ?

its currently plugged DVI but never tried HDMI to see if their was a difference


Thanks
__________________
Main Rig
Intel Core i5 4670K
Gigabyte Z87X-OC Force

Gigabyte Geforce GTX 780 3GB
2x 4GB G.Skills Trident X DD3-2400
NZXT Switch 810 Matte Black / Enermax Revolution 920W
A-DATA S510 120GB OS / A-DATA SX900 256GB Games / WD Black 1TB Misc

Canadian Eh ?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2012, 01:30 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Nashville
Posts: 134
Default

Something I found that would be helpful for you: HDMI Vs. DVI-D Cable | eHow.com

The short of it is that HDMI is derived from DVI-D, but only HDMI supports audio out of the two. Otherwise, pretty much the same beside a couple minor differences.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2012, 01:42 PM
r0k0's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Posts: 713

My System Specs

Default

i dont need that, both my card and screen has HDMI and DVI, im just asking if theirs a benefit from HDMI to DVI ? like if the image is nicer when plugged HDMI instead of DVI
__________________
Main Rig
Intel Core i5 4670K
Gigabyte Z87X-OC Force

Gigabyte Geforce GTX 780 3GB
2x 4GB G.Skills Trident X DD3-2400
NZXT Switch 810 Matte Black / Enermax Revolution 920W
A-DATA S510 120GB OS / A-DATA SX900 256GB Games / WD Black 1TB Misc

Canadian Eh ?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2012, 02:41 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Nashville
Posts: 134
Default

Read the bolded part if you don't want to read the article.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tethlah View Post
Something I found that would be helpful for you: HDMI Vs. DVI-D Cable | eHow.com

The short of it is that HDMI is derived from DVI-D, but only HDMI supports audio out of the two. Otherwise, pretty much the same beside a couple minor differences.
So in shorter, you're fine with DVI-D.

Edit: There is one thing that's not in the article, I'm pretty sure that if you want to use 3D you need to use DIV-D Dual Link because of bandwidth issues.

Last edited by tethlah; December 3, 2012 at 02:56 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2012, 03:14 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,119

My System Specs

Default

Same quality. Digital is digital. Dvi, however, is capable of higher resolutions at its limit(I believe)
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950(unlocked shaders and OC'd), Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2012, 05:53 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,951

My System Specs

Default

HDMI (typically) caps you at 1080p. DVI-D does not. And as mentioned, you get audio with HDMI too.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2012, 06:03 PM
r0k0's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Posts: 713

My System Specs

Default

alright thanks everyone

tethlah sorry i didn't read properly i just overlook the hmdi to dvi connector lol
__________________
Main Rig
Intel Core i5 4670K
Gigabyte Z87X-OC Force

Gigabyte Geforce GTX 780 3GB
2x 4GB G.Skills Trident X DD3-2400
NZXT Switch 810 Matte Black / Enermax Revolution 920W
A-DATA S510 120GB OS / A-DATA SX900 256GB Games / WD Black 1TB Misc

Canadian Eh ?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2012, 08:39 PM
Galcobar's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Richmond, B.C.
Posts: 437

My System Specs

Default

HDMI's maximum resolution depends on the revision of the source, the cable, and the receiver; HDMI 1.4b maxes out at 1920x1080 at 120 FPS, while higher resolutions require lower frame rates.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2012, 07:09 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Nashville
Posts: 134
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Galcobar View Post
HDMI's maximum resolution depends on the revision of the source, the cable, and the receiver; HDMI 1.4b maxes out at 1920x1080 at 120 FPS, while higher resolutions require lower frame rates.
Can it run 2 side by side 60hz transmissions for 3D though? That's the part I always get mixed up, I'm pretty sure it can't.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LAPTOP HDMI TO LCD TV HDMI NOT WORKING appplejack Display Units 15 May 3, 2014 12:15 PM
Yet another HDMI connection question Ogren Display Units 10 February 1, 2012 06:18 PM
DVI-HDMI cable question on HD 4890 Darthzin Video Cards 8 January 11, 2012 01:42 PM
HDMI Cable Question Supergrover HTPC Systems & Software 11 June 30, 2008 08:53 PM