Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2012, 05:25 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 17
Question how many monitors at 2560x1440 with Nvidia?

When using Nvidia GTX 660 DirectCu II with 2 monitors or more, can they all run at resolution 2560x1440?

Also interested in new Dell Ultrasharp U2913WM panoramic 29" HD 2560x1080 .

A vast, 29" panoramic display with a 21:9 aspect ratio and 2560 x 1080 Full HD offers the screen space of side-by-side monitors without a distracting bezel in between. Plus, with a 178°/178° (typical) ultra-wide viewing angle, you can enjoy an excellent view from almost any position.

Dan
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 23, 2012, 12:44 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,826

My System Specs

Default

I would hate that 29"... 1080 is not enough screen at the best of times.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2012, 07:29 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Agreed...stick to 2560 x 1440 minimum, better yet 2560 x 1600 !!
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 25, 2012, 06:08 AM
Slik's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sault Ste Marie On.
Posts: 1,093

My System Specs

Default

LG has a 27"at 2560x1440 and a 21.9 aspect ratio. Those things should be GREAT for gamers.
__________________
Corsair Air 540 -i7 4930k @ 4.4ghz. Liquid cooled-4x4gb G Skill Trident X DDR3@ 2400mhz- Two EVGA Titans SLI - Xonar Phoebus Sound Card-Dell 3008 30" Monitor-Razer Tiamat Headphones-Butt Kicker Gamer-TrackIR 5
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2012, 05:42 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 17
Default

still no answer to 2 monitors, can they all run at resolution 2560x1440?

thinking 2 27" 2560x1440" monitors better than 3 23 1920x1080" monitors
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2012, 06:29 PM
BeaverBender's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Montreal
Posts: 260

My System Specs

Default

Well, I believe you should be able to run two monitors at that resolution but you couldn't run them both off the two DVI connectors since only one is dual link, so you would need to connect using two types of connectors or purchase an adapter for one of them. Obviously you wouldn't be able to do any serious gaming at that resolution with just one of these cards though.
__________________
Creationists make it sound like a ‘theory’ is something you dreamt up after being drunk all night — Isaac Asimov
All thinking men are atheists — Ernest Hemingway
Faith means not wanting to know what is true — Friedrich Nietzsche


Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2012, 06:33 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BeaverBender View Post
Well, I believe you should be able to run two monitors at that resolution but you couldn't run them both off the two DVI connectors since only one is dual link, so you would need to connect using two types of connectors or purchase an adapter for one of them. Obviously you wouldn't be able to do any serious gaming at that resolution with just one of these cards though.
Can I use the display port or hdmi for second monitor? which DVI is the dual link on Asus GTX 660? there is DVI-D and DVI-I on this card.

No gaming at all

Dan
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2012, 06:40 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,106

My System Specs

Default

The gtx 660 series comes with 2 dual link DVI and a display port + HDMI. Going from the DVI and display port specs, you can run 2 monitors with that resolution.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2012, 06:45 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Silvgearx View Post
The gtx 660 series comes with 2 dual link DVI and a display port + HDMI. Going from the DVI and display port specs, you can run 2 monitors with that resolution.
Thanks, now I can go ahead and order 2 27" monitors, trying to decide between Dell U2713HM , Asus PB278Q or even Apply Cinema Display ( not lightning connector model ) seems all panels almost made by LG except PLS panel made by Samsung.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2012, 07:10 PM
Phill's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Morden MB
Posts: 597

My System Specs

Default

FWIW I own a U2711 and a cheaper Korean Shimian 27" 2560X1440 and if I was you I would go for two Korean displays. Be it a Catsleap or Shimian or whatever the other ones are. I know when I bought mine I paid $289 and that included shipping. I had to pay some fees to UPS for brokerage but IIRC the total bill was ~$350 and that is not bad at all. My display was excellent. IMO it is something worth looking into.

...also, personally one primary 30" 2560X1600 with a secondary portrait 27" 2560X1440 would be my next move. 27" 2560X1440 is very nice yes but I do not like 16:9. 16:10 30" 2560X1600 that is what I want!

Last edited by Phill; November 28, 2012 at 07:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CATLEAP-Q270-LED-2560X1440 $400 Justin Cider Display Units 232 June 8, 2013 12:40 AM
7950 cf vs 670 sli @2560x1440 TedShackley Video Cards 4 September 30, 2012 07:04 AM
Graphics Card to Power 2560x1440 Resolution JoeOnePack Video Cards 18 June 7, 2012 10:46 PM
3d monitors in nvidia 3d surround campu0999 Display Units 9 December 1, 2011 01:38 AM
Multiple monitors on Nvidia 4xx/5xx cards? Inate8 Video Cards 6 January 3, 2011 02:34 PM