Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2012, 05:44 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Question Is my PSU good enough?

Hi, I'm planning to upgrade my gt440 to a hd7850 or hd7870 (whichever that my PSU can support) I'm using an Asus m5a78l-m lx motherboard with 2x4gb ddr3 ram and a Seagate Barracuda 500gb with AMD fx-4100 the gt440 is just a middle-class gpu and it just uses 65w max -GeForce GT 440 | Specifications | GeForce the hd7850 needs 130w - GeForce GT 440 1.5GB vs Radeon HD 7850 Performance Comparison Benchmarks @ Hardware Compare (don't look at the gt440 as im using a 1gb ver. instead of 1.5gb) I used the PSUcalculator from extreme.outervision.com but ends up i only needs 339w with the hd7850, so does this means my PSU can support the hd7850 flawlessly? changing to the hd7870 and it shows i need 362w recommended I have a TreeTop TA80 450w which is actually by AcBel, a taiwanese company. It would be hard to find on google so i've attached an image. Hope it helps.
Attached Images
 

Last edited by darkevin; November 19, 2012 at 09:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2012, 06:07 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,531

My System Specs

Default

You're going to have to add some information about your PSU if you want folks to offer constructive advice.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2012, 06:09 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 700

My System Specs

Default

Yeah,because i would like to know the name and the wattage of the PSU
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2012, 09:11 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,920

My System Specs

Default

Brand model wattage of you power supply?
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2012, 07:49 PM
486's Avatar
486 486 is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 397

My System Specs

Default

Darkevin, I know the answer to your question. Hopefully that helps!
__________________
Silverstone TJ-08E
Seasonic X-660
Asus P8Z77-M Pro
Intel i7-3770
Kingstone HyperX 2 x 8GB
Crucial M4 256GB + 128 GB
Sapphire Radeon HD7970
Nec Multisync LCD2690WUXI
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2012, 03:38 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 427

My System Specs

Default

I don't know anything about that brand, but something I think is common with lower end PSUs is over rating their max wattage. So it might not actually deliver 450W, and another thing is how "clean/dirty" the actual voltage is at higer load levels.

I've ran my 6950 on a cheapo 500W a few times, not something I like doing, so for my backup rig I'm going to get a new 1.

Here's too that are cheap but seem very good, I was considering these

Corsair CX430 V2 Power Supply Review | Hardware Secrets
Corsair CX Series CX430 430W ATX 12V 80 Plus Bronze Power Supply 140mm Fan - DirectCanada

Corsair CX Series CX500 500W ATX 12V 80 Plus Bronze Power Supply 140mm Fan - DirectCanada
can't find the reviews for that 1 I was using 2 weeks ago, but they're out there somewhere
__________________
i7 2700k - 7950 3GB crossfire - 4GB 1866 CL8 - 1600p
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2012, 04:26 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,946
Default

the arrows are what concerns you the 12v rail 1 is for cpu 12v rail 2 for pci-e

Seasonic S12II 620W EPS12V 20/24PIN ATX Power Supply Active PFC 80+ Bronze 6+8PIN PCI-E W/ 120MM Fan with rating or any PSU with 80 plus rating
Attached Images
 

Last edited by KaptCrunch; November 20, 2012 at 04:32 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2012, 05:21 AM
maverick_brent's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 467

My System Specs

Default

In my opinion, i'd replace it, the price of a more reputable power supply, such as the seasonic Kapthas suggested is the best bet. PSU is the most important part of your psu IMHO
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2012, 07:05 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 700

My System Specs

Default

Same, i would not believe that PSU,i would replace with a Corsair or a Be Quiet! that is 80+ bronze or more.A 500W is not that expensive.It would cost much more if that PSU fails.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2012, 07:31 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,920

My System Specs

Default

Yeah I wouldn't trust that power supply with a decently priced graphics card. I wouldn't plan on running it at more than 300w consistently. I would upgrade the power supply to something seasonic, xfx, corsair or antec minumum 520w range for a 7850 or 7870.

If you want to keep your power supply I wouldn't go any more power hungry than a hd 7770. A 7770 should give you a decent boost in FPS, while consuming about the same amount of power as your 440. That said with a power supply of questionable quality you always run the risk of damaging components, so I still recommend a new power supply as I mentioned earlier.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's a good USB Hub Blu Peripherals 1 September 21, 2012 05:48 AM
[WTB] a good router flashed to good firmware gingerbee Buy/Sell & Trade 9 February 15, 2012 05:15 AM
what is a good Media player for a good price or any suggestions Shadowmeph HTPC Systems & Software 4 December 19, 2009 10:27 PM
I think this is good timidestemu New Builds 4 August 6, 2009 07:47 PM
are they good? oksir Air Cooling 3 July 24, 2008 05:58 AM