Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 10, 2012, 10:59 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 561
Default Do GPUs always run at 100%?

I just realized I don't know this....but do GPUs always run at 100%?

For CPUs, they generally do a finite amount of work at once and then go back to idle. What do GPUs do? if a GPU can pump out 200FPS, will it realize that that is wayyyy too much for a 60Hz monitor and run at a lower clock rate?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 10, 2012, 11:30 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,382

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Generic User #2 View Post
I just realized I don't know this....but do GPUs always run at 100%?

For CPUs, they generally do a finite amount of work at once and then go back to idle. What do GPUs do? if a GPU can pump out 200FPS, will it realize that that is wayyyy too much for a 60Hz monitor and run at a lower clock rate?
It depends, if you turn on Vsync it will run at a lower rate or if it is being bottlenecked by your CPU it will run at a lower rate. However if you are telling it to crank out as many frames per second as possible it is going to work as hard as it can to do that.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 10, 2012, 11:37 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 561
Default

how do I tell it to 'crank out as many frames as possible'? That is the 'default' setting, relative to vsync enabled?

so, a GPU with vsync enabled should be running cooler and quieter than one without?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 10, 2012, 11:58 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,864

My System Specs

Default

Vsync will limit max fps. All newer gpu lower their clock speeds when not in use.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2012, 12:08 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,221

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Generic User #2 View Post
I just realized I don't know this....but do GPUs always run at 100%?

For CPUs, they generally do a finite amount of work at once and then go back to idle. What do GPUs do? if a GPU can pump out 200FPS, will it realize that that is wayyyy too much for a 60Hz monitor and run at a lower clock rate?
No they don't, the GPU's usage will vary depending on load. You can easily check for this using some diagnostics software such as AIDA64 among others under GPU usage. It would be VERY unpractical if a GPU ran at 100% at all times, imagine the heat.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2012, 01:00 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,382

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Generic User #2 View Post
how do I tell it to 'crank out as many frames as possible'? That is the 'default' setting, relative to vsync enabled?

so, a GPU with vsync enabled should be running cooler and quieter than one without?
1st pretty much yes.

2nd it depends on whether or not you can actually hit your screens refresh rate with gpu power to spare.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2012, 03:03 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 561
Default

From what I understand, if we say '100%', we can mean one of two things:

1. 100% of all shaders (and other GPU pipeline components) are filled with data and instructions to process that data

2. the shaders are running at 100% of their maximum clockspeed.

I've been referring to #2 because I imagine some games are structured to only use a certain amount of shaders at the time, BUT the GPU itself is in control of what clockspeed it wants to run at.

when I run real temp and look at GPU utilization, what exactly is it reporting back to me?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2012, 04:59 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 700

My System Specs

Default

It depends if the GPU reched the amount of framerates you want. without vsync the GPU will try to make as much FPS as possible . if you enable vsync, if the GPU can't make 60 FPS (60hz screen) ,it will be 100% BUT if you have 90 fps and you enable vsync,the gpu won't use all it's power, and be like 80%,depends on games

also,even without vsync in old games it's not 100% because sometimes,the frames are limited by the graphics engine or the game,for example it's 125fps in minecraft the maximum.Tell me if i'm wrong
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2012, 07:18 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,864

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Generic User #2 View Post
From what I understand, if we say '100%', we can mean one of two things:

1. 100% of all shaders (and other GPU pipeline components) are filled with data and instructions to process that data

2. the shaders are running at 100% of their maximum clockspeed.

I've been referring to #2 because I imagine some games are structured to only use a certain amount of shaders at the time, BUT the GPU itself is in control of what clockspeed it wants to run at.

when I run real temp and look at GPU utilization, what exactly is it reporting back to me?
With that clarification I can give you a better answer. The graphic card drivers get the card to boost frequencies to 100% when it is required and it likely should be during all gaming. I am not familiar with the program you are using, but if you download and run MSI afterburner it will visually show you the answer to all you gpu related questions (it will show frequencies, usage, fan speed, VRAM use, etc and track them over time).
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2012, 08:30 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 25
Default

They don't run at 100% all the time unless you are pushing it to the max. Otherwise they rise and fall according to my graphs from Afterburner.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best Value GPUs Greaseddog Video Cards 9 December 27, 2011 09:26 PM
Low PPD for GPUs ADay2Long HardwareCanucks F@H Team 13 November 1, 2010 06:45 PM
NVIDIA Removes Restriction on ATI GPUs with NVIDIA GPUs Processing PhysX burebista Reviews & Articles from the Web 80 May 31, 2010 05:47 PM
Mix-match GPUs Bubbzilla Video Cards 2 October 15, 2009 09:52 PM
What's up with one of my GPUs? redwagon HardwareCanucks F@H Team 12 September 18, 2009 08:38 AM