Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2012, 05:20 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,194

My System Specs

Default GTX295 installation problem

So,

I'm trying to install the GTX295 into the following rig:

ASUS F1A75-M Pro
A6 3670K
SPI 650W powersupply.

I only want to put in there for folding purposes.

However, when I install it, the rig does not post. Instead it gives me the (one long, three short) video card warning signal. I checked the GTX295 in my other rig, and it starts up just fine. I then installed a GTX680 in the APU rig, and that booted up just fine. So, it seems like the problem is between the 295 and the F1A75 motherboard.

Any ideas? And before anybody pinpoints the powersupply, that powersupply ran the GTX295, an HD7950 and an overclocked Hex core thuban processor concurrently in my previous rig. So, it's not the powersupply.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2012, 06:01 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,052

My System Specs

Default

Not that it will be the case, but the only issue I could possibly see is the PCI-e slot not giving the 295 enough Juice, where as whatever other comp you put it into has no issues. The 680 being a much more recent efficent card doesn't have the same PCI-e consumption and therefore works.

A long shot, but its really the only thing I can think of.

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2012, 06:17 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,194

My System Specs

Default

Hmm, I wonder how I could prove or disprove this, and if so, what the remedy would be.

I thought PCI-E slots were supposed to give a solid 75W of power...
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2012, 07:16 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,052

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by great_big_abyss View Post
Hmm, I wonder how I could prove or disprove this, and if so, what the remedy would be.

I thought PCI-E slots were supposed to give a solid 75W of power...
Like I said, long shot but its the only thing comming to mind.

I think the newer style cards (6XX series) pull from PCI-e cables first and slot second. I could be totally wrong though.
The only possible way I could think of testing GBA is find another card similar in power and vintage to a 295 and put it in.

GX2 maybe, 3870x2 I dunno, something that will eat a ton of power.

Just a thought.

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2012, 07:19 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,194

My System Specs

Default

Hmmm, Okay, so no reasonable way for me to test this theory then.

Anybody else have any ideas? I just really want to get this card in and crunching away. I could always put it in my main rig, but I don't want to potentially disturb my 680 from crunching 170K PPD.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2012, 07:24 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,052

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by great_big_abyss View Post
Hmmm, Okay, so no reasonable way for me to test this theory then.

Anybody else have any ideas? I just really want to get this card in and crunching away. I could always put it in my main rig, but I don't want to potentially disturb my 680 from crunching 170K PPD.
Sorry :(

Was only a theory, and the only one I can think of, unless there is some BIOS item that needs to be enabled, but that is doubtful.

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2012, 07:28 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,194

My System Specs

Default

Hey ST, it's not your fault I'm having this problem. You actually gave me an idea that I can potentially test around.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2012, 09:32 AM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,291

My System Specs

Default

Okay I think I know what your issue is. I had this before loading a Nvidia card into the FM1 setup.
Go into the bios under video settings set main video controller to the PCI GPU and disable on the onboard. you might have to take screen shots for me to walk you through if that's not it as I dont have any of my test benches in Calgary yet. but oh also make sure the newest bios is on, I have not had enough time to read your full issue as I am at work :)
__________________
Follow us on facebook at https://www.facebook.com/realhardwarereviews?ref=hl
Site and Forum online
http://forums.realhardwarereviews.com/index.php
Contests will be done on there from now on :)
http://realhardwarereviews.com/
Always up for a Beer in Calgary or Area

“Two possibilities exist: either we are alone in the Universe or we are not. Both are equally terrifying.”
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2012, 09:43 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,194

My System Specs

Default

I already tested a discrete GTX680 on the board, and it worked. So, are we sure this is the problem? I will try when I get home.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2012, 09:56 AM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,291

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by great_big_abyss View Post
I already tested a discrete GTX680 on the board, and it worked. So, are we sure this is the problem? I will try when I get home.
wait a second the 295 thats a sli on chip card right? is the lack of SLI support a issue? I could be completely off I will ask tech support in a moment :)
__________________
Follow us on facebook at https://www.facebook.com/realhardwarereviews?ref=hl
Site and Forum online
http://forums.realhardwarereviews.com/index.php
Contests will be done on there from now on :)
http://realhardwarereviews.com/
Always up for a Beer in Calgary or Area

“Two possibilities exist: either we are alone in the Universe or we are not. Both are equally terrifying.”
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GTX295 folding great_big_abyss HardwareCanucks F@H Team 30 December 10, 2012 06:35 AM
[WTB] EVGA GTX295 BT! Buy/Sell & Trade 22 March 8, 2010 02:26 PM
[WTB] EVGA GTX295 Liu Kang Buy/Sell & Trade 7 July 3, 2009 07:29 AM
Windows XP installation problem, freezing on install, need help! Dot Merix O/S's, Drivers & General Software 7 July 25, 2008 03:19 PM