Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2012, 02:08 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 8
Default GTX660ti SLI 6 monitors ???

Hi peeps first time post and first time on this site hope to use this forum alot more to get help and help others with what i can

What i am hoping to do is run run 2 x GTX660ti with the out come of being able to run 6 monitors as you would run 3 monitors with Nvidia Surround.

All tips welcome
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2012, 02:09 PM
Skyllz's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 760

My System Specs

Default

You would not be running them in SLI then. They would run seperate. SLI means you are using both cards power to a single set of output. You want to use all the outputs, hence why you cant SLI them.

And for running 6 monitors, I cant help you there, sorry.
__________________
Is smoke supposed to come out of there?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2012, 02:14 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 8
Default

I'm starting to think about the HD 5870 Eyefinity 6 now but just seems alot for one card to run
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2012, 03:52 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,507

My System Specs

Default

ASUS - Graphics Cards- ASUS EAH6970 DCII/2DI4S/2GD5

And get another regular HD6970 for Crossfire. You'll be set.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2012, 04:02 PM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,322

My System Specs

Default

ASUS - Graphics Cards- ASUS MATRIX-HD7970-P-3GD5

there's the beast you need :)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2012, 04:02 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 8
Default

Tnx b1lk1 could it be possible for me to run six with 2 msi gtx 660 Ti
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2012, 04:08 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,507

My System Specs

Default

No. You can only output to 3 monitors with SLI.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2012, 04:18 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 8
Default

Is it not possible to run both cards with SLI
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how many monitors do you use? muse108dc Display Units 27 March 6, 2013 08:28 AM
Crysis 2 on GTX660Ti petestraining Troubleshooting 6 August 31, 2012 09:48 AM
Can I upgrade to Zotac Gtx660ti. kr7777 Video Cards 10 August 25, 2012 06:59 PM
What monitors to get? SKW Display Units 8 August 1, 2011 03:28 PM
2 monitors, what to do muse108dc Display Units 3 May 26, 2011 08:13 PM