Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2012, 02:55 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
Default GTX 690 No Performance Increase

Hey guys I need some help. I just got my brand new EVGA Nvidia Geforce GTX 690. I saved up a lot of money to purchase this card and when I put it in and installed all the latest drivers I started to test it on some games and when I started to play the games I barely saw any better performance on the games FPS. So I tried overclocking it and I didn't see any difference. My old graphics card was the Sapphire Radeon 7950. So out of curiosity I turned off the SLI to see if I can see a difference and the FPS stayed the same. I don't know what the problem is, please let me know what your thoughts are.

My system specs:

1. Super Micro Mother Bd. (X9DR3-f)
3. Intel Xeon E5-2630, sandy bridge-EP, six core(2.3Ghz each core),( 2.8G turbo Boost) Processor (qty 2)
4. Super Micro, pre-charged, CPU cooler (qty 2)
5. Cool Master 1000Watt power supply
6. Corsair 32G(4x8G), DDR3, 1600MHz (qty 2 kits)
7. Seagate 1.5TB, 6G, SATA Hard Disk
8. EVGA Nvidia Geforce GTX 690
9. Windows 7 (64 bit)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2012, 03:41 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 694

My System Specs

Default

CPU bottleneck? A lot of games are not quadThreaded and your 2.3 ghz cores may be the problem,right? i Don't believe turbo boost,what i mean is that games don't care about your 6 cores,and will use 2 max,generally.. check CPU usage while playing! I don't see another thing :( 690 is much better...I'm quite sure that It's the problem^^

Even a single 680 is better than 7950...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2012, 03:45 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
Default

But I have 2 cpu's on one motherboard. Wow. So what do you suggest doing?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2012, 03:53 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 694

My System Specs

Default

The programs probably use 1 CPU.. Man, download a widget of windows or something to check cores usage in game.. So that we make sure it's the problem
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2012, 03:55 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,048

My System Specs

Default

What games specifically at what resolution?

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2012, 03:55 PM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

It does sound kind of like a cpu bottleneck. I tried using a quad opteron (octocore 6128's @ 2.38 Ghz) to run l4d2 and found that my framerate poor. I was running a 7970 and it would only run at around half load. This could be what you are experiencing. May need to convert that dual socket rig to folding and get a single socket board for games.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2012, 04:07 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Is it possible to sell one processor and put in this in one of the cpu slots to run the gpu? Newegg.com - Intel Core i7-3960X Extreme Edition Sandy Bridge-E 3.3GHz (3.9GHz Turbo) LGA 2011 130W Six-Core Desktop Processor BX80619i73960X
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2012, 04:10 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 560
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smerpo View Post
But I have 2 cpu's on one motherboard. Wow. So what do you suggest doing?
that means absolutely nothing.

otherwise, BD would be the performance king. lol. :D
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2012, 04:28 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 694

My System Specs

Default

Ok so we all think it's a CPU bottleneck, so yes, get a faster CPU, an I5 2500k or more would not be bottlenecked, try to get 3.3 ghz + per cores and at least a quad core, for that card, no need to ruin yourself in an I7,you can get a I5 3570k,would be just perfect :D But before, Check cores usage, before buying anything,so that we make sure it's the problem... It's very important.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2012, 04:31 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,048

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smerpo View Post
IIRC your board because it has dual Proc's needs to have Xeon processors only inside of it.

That would not work.

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
690 , fps , geforce , gtx , problem

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AnyWay to increase performance on APU????? KSiG CPU's and Motherboards 9 January 9, 2012 09:38 AM
second 5850 only giving 20% increase in performance Cazushio Video Cards 6 November 8, 2011 02:31 AM
Increase DRAM clock, huge increase in CPU temps? lowfat CPU's and Motherboards 12 September 7, 2011 10:56 AM
A build to increase my PPD MarkOne New Builds 22 January 12, 2010 09:29 PM
Is this a good build to increase game performance? Work your magic! mtrpcic New Builds 8 October 4, 2009 12:09 PM