Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 13, 2012, 11:09 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 561
Default GTX 650 Ti for 1440p RTS gaming

Sorry for ANOTHER thread asking about GPU performance, but nVidia keeps releasing cheaper cards :) . I originally specced the build with a GTX 670 lol.

AnandTech - The NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti Review, Feat. Gigabyte, Zotac, & EVGA - SKY didn't do SC2 :(

looking at the performance there...is there any reason to believe that the EVGA GTX 650TI SSC won't be able to run SC2 at top settings (no AA though) at a reasonable framerate at 1440P?

I realize [that seemingly] the extreme majority of you are FPS gamers who demand maxed graphics with min FPS. greater than 60FPS. PLEASE keep in mind that SC2 is an RTS game, where 24-30 average FPS is more than reasonable (although staying too close to 24 FPS the whole time is still a bad thing and dipping below that is a very bad thing).

maybe the 2GB version might be more appropriate for 1440p resolutions? I realize that the 7850 is the recommended buy, but I really rather stick with nVidia for this build. thoughts?

NOTE: I also plan on playing the next Dead Space. On my MBP 13" w/ a 320m, I can max out dead space AND keep decent framerates. I'm assuming if SC2 runs fine, then DS3 will be fine as well.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2012, 04:41 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,887

My System Specs

Default

Here is a review with 1920x1200 for SCII

My thoughts are that it would run at 1440p with acceptable FPS (maybe have to turn a setting or 2 down a notch), BUT, its going to be cutting it close an may require replacing sooner than you would like because of the resolution. Personally if you are sticking with Nvidia I would say minimum gtx 660 (non-Ti) for that resolution and primarily SCII. I know its not as cheap as the 650Ti, but at that high of a resolution the 650Ti is cutting things back a bit too much. If you were planning on a 670 then its still a massive savings to go with a 660. As much as the 650Ti may suffice I think its worth the extra few $.
AnandTech - The NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti Review, Feat. Gigabyte, Zotac, & EVGA

__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2012, 07:29 AM
Pabz0r545's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,301

My System Specs

Default

It will be fine for Starcraft 2. When I was between GPU's I rocked SC2 on my i5 2500k integrated for about 10 days and it was able to handle 4v4 multiplayer on the lowest settings at a very acceptable frame rate. SC2 isn't very graphically demanding, moreso cpu demanding.

p.s. you should add me to bnet :D I play tons of sc2 but been on a break for xcom. over 7k ladder games on my belt :P
__________________
I'm a damn hoarder lol.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2012, 10:03 AM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

Like others have suggested: the 650Ti will probably run SC2 alright but a 660 or 660Ti would give you that little extra boost especially in those scenes with lots of animations and units. You don't want to drop down below 30 fps in those parts of the game, you won't be able to control your units.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2012, 07:30 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 561
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond007 View Post
Here is a review with 1920x1200 for SCII
haha, I actually have that same link in my OP ;)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pabz0r545 View Post
p.s. you should add me to bnet :D I play tons of sc2 but been on a break for xcom. over 7k ladder games on my belt :P
haha, I'll definitely do that when I don't have to game on my MBP 13" anymore and I get a little bit more practice. 7K games is ALOT more than what I've accomplished in SC2 :D

Quote:
Originally Posted by dandelioneater View Post
Like others have suggested: the 650Ti will probably run SC2 alright but a 660 or 660Ti would give you that little extra boost especially in those scenes with lots of animations and units. You don't want to drop down below 30 fps in those parts of the game, you won't be able to control your units.
sometimes, I hate it when you guys are right ;)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gaming Sunglasses, your thoughts for Work and Gaming Arinoth Peripherals 20 February 13, 2012 10:24 AM
[WTT] *TRADED* My WaterCooled Gaming Rig ( LOT OF FREEBIES ) For your Gaming Laptop bautisj Buy/Sell & Trade 10 October 31, 2010 04:40 PM