Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2012, 06:25 AM
mattlef's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 1,977

My System Specs

Default Really weird SLI issue...

Hey everyone

As you may have seen, I've aquired a couple of 660ti's and have thrown'm together in SLI.
I have, however, encountered a problem. When playing BF3, (have yet to test other games) in full screen, with SLI enabled, (both gpus go to 80-99%) the screen has this horrible flicker and purple overlay. However in windowed mode, BF3 plays perfect.

However when i change the sli profile to rendering with one card, the game plays pefect, but only off one card (c1-99%, c2 15-35%)

Is this a driver issue? or, am i doing something wrong? I have no idea what to make of it.

Power issues wouldnt cause this problem would it? I'm running right now on a gold rated Seasonic X-660 psu.... so i should have more than enough headroom.


Thanks!
-Matt
__________________
Co-Host of the Dam Good Show

My Rig: Motivation 2.0
----------------
Build log - Motivation: Sponsored by Galaxy and Corsair
---------------
Check out the HardwareCanucks Youtube Channel for News/Reviews and more!
Instagram Twitter
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2012, 06:30 AM
Skyllz's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 748

My System Specs

Default

Completely oddball solution but it worked for me with my 260GTX back then when I had weird rendering issues...

I swapped the cards from one slot to the other, used a different SLI bridge and the problem went away. The cards were probably not seated right.
__________________
Is smoke supposed to come out of there?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2012, 06:36 AM
lelionmoddeur
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

maybe its a damaged bridge, try to use another,or maybe it's badly pluged
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2012, 06:41 AM
mattlef's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 1,977

My System Specs

Default

I'll give that a shot.

Would that really affect fullscreen gaming though, like wouldnt that be the case in the desktop too?
I'll try reseating when i get home tonight. hope that actually helps.
__________________
Co-Host of the Dam Good Show

My Rig: Motivation 2.0
----------------
Build log - Motivation: Sponsored by Galaxy and Corsair
---------------
Check out the HardwareCanucks Youtube Channel for News/Reviews and more!
Instagram Twitter
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2012, 06:48 AM
lelionmoddeur
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

maybe there is some dust on the connector,try to blow in the stuff

happened with my nintendo DS lite

there are generally protections on the SLI golden thing ,on the card,if the protection was removed for ages,a simple blow may fix your bug
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2012, 06:50 AM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default

I have the same problem with a 2 x 560 , I just switch the monitor cable on the other connector of the same card and it's work well now.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2012, 09:24 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,614

My System Specs

Default

With an X660, I'm not convinced that power is not an issue.

GTX 660 Ti Roundup (ASUS, EVGA, Gigabyte, Galaxy, MSI)
and
AnandTech - The GeForce GTX 660 Ti Review, Feat. EVGA, Zotac, and Gigabyte

Both show ~300w for a single card. I can imagine that running SLI will hit the 600w mark, add the CPU and you will push your Seasonic past its limit.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2012, 09:38 AM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 34

My System Specs

Default

Are you using Afterburner?

If so, then disable "Synchronize settings for similar graphics processors".
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2012, 09:42 AM
mattlef's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 1,977

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
With an X660, I'm not convinced that power is not an issue.

GTX 660 Ti Roundup (ASUS, EVGA, Gigabyte, Galaxy, MSI)
and
AnandTech - The GeForce GTX 660 Ti Review, Feat. EVGA, Zotac, and Gigabyte

Both show ~300w for a single card. I can imagine that running SLI will hit the 600w mark, add the CPU and you will push your Seasonic past its limit.

Both those values are total system. with the cards in SLI I'd assume they'd pull about 200-250 each.
CPU and components would pull 100-150, meaning im within the power threashold of the PSU.

I will be upgrading, but im not 100% convinced that power is the problem.

SKY uses the following for reviews:
Processor: Intel i7 3930K @ 4.5GHz
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 32GB @ 1866MHz
Motherboard: ASUS P9X79 WS
Cooling: Corsair H80
SSD: 2x Corsair Performance Pro 256GB
Power Supply: Corsair AX1200
Monitor: Samsung 305T / 3x Acer 235Hz
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate N x64 SP1

The 3930 @4.5, ram and mobo will pull a hell of a lot more from the PSU than my 2500K, 8gb @1.65v and mobo...

so for one card, I'd estimate the draw with one card to be around 260w, add another card, I'd assume 450-500 tops, then add in my pump, and fans... which are pretty much nothing, and boom... within the envelope.


Toms review of two 660tis shows draw as the following:
__________________
Co-Host of the Dam Good Show

My Rig: Motivation 2.0
----------------
Build log - Motivation: Sponsored by Galaxy and Corsair
---------------
Check out the HardwareCanucks Youtube Channel for News/Reviews and more!
Instagram Twitter

Last edited by mattlef; October 2, 2012 at 10:04 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2012, 12:37 PM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 34

My System Specs

Default

Did you manage to fix the problem?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD 11.6 weird issue JerryZ O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 July 7, 2011 01:50 PM
weird 8800gt issue _dangtx_ HardwareCanucks F@H Team 8 March 14, 2010 06:07 PM
Weird Issue lcdguy Video Cards 12 July 20, 2009 08:52 AM
Weird Crash Issue ChuckleBrother Troubleshooting 8 May 25, 2009 06:37 PM
Weird Vista Issue lcdguy Troubleshooting 19 October 10, 2008 05:17 AM