Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2012, 10:24 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,382

My System Specs

Default

Yeah definately bottlenecked by CPU and monitor... Before going quad core I would OC your current CPU first. In most games more than two cores aren't needed or used very much anyways (for example when play Guild Wars 2 all 4 cores run at 25% and when I play BF3 one of my CPU cores is almost idle and some are loaded). As you move down in resolution you notice less of an impact in frames when you improve your GPU since there is a smaller load on the gpu to begin with. I guarantee with a 1920x1080 monitor and an i5 2500 or better you would see your frames double.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2012, 10:48 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bphilo View Post
Thanks for all the relevent comments.
My monitor is a BenQ 19''. CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo 3.16 Ghz. DDR2: 4GB. Win 7 64 bits.
I think I'd better buy a quad core CPU if I can find one with old socket 775 ... Tell me if it will make difference.
I'm thinking that it'll still bottleneck. I think it's time for a mb/cpu/ram upgrade.

But lets see what others say....

Getting 4.0ghz out of your existing CPU would be a good start. If it doesn't help then I think it's upgrade time.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2012, 04:14 AM
Skyllz's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 748

My System Specs

Default

Socket 775 is the bottleneck... I would not waste money into another CPU, I would tough it out until you can afford something better.

In the mean time, a good cooler and an overclock would be your best bang for buck. Choose wisely and your cooler will be able to be reused with a newer Mobo/CPU also.
__________________
Is smoke supposed to come out of there?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2012, 04:56 AM
lelionmoddeur
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

all ur PC is a bottleneck,the CPU,2 cores not enough,and the ram,for 1GB vram cards,8gb is recommended for BF3,this solved EXTREME lag (15 FPS)
for gtx 560 ti users i know,and anyway,for the future,i recommend 8gb

u need new CPU,or overclock it to 4ghz with nitrogen -_-' and for last games,crysis 2 and BF3,get 8 gb ram so the game can load in ram too,not only VRAM,sounds dumb but its a true story,i know 3 guys,by internet..,they had 4 gb ram
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2012, 11:42 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,882

My System Specs

Default

An OC will help, but as others have said you are being held up by the platform as a whole. Yes a quad core would help, but not worth the money IMO. Even a new i3, cheap motherboard and 8gb ram would see a nice jump in fps.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2012, 02:16 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Geneva - Switzerland
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks for all the tips. No point in wasting money on old socket for sure. I overclocked my good old E8500 dual core to 3.6Ghz and system is stable and temperature not over 40.(I have a good cpu cooler) I can play Batman AC with PhysX on high settings with no stutters. Again thanks to you all.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2012, 02:58 PM
elmorejohn46's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Greenville,TX
Posts: 294

My System Specs

Default

I would'nt spend no more money on that system as you can tell you did not get much improvement over the GTX-260 .I would get a 2500K or a 3570K ,you can find deals and get a CPU and motherboard and memory for around $300 and you will see a pretty good increase.But the monitor needs to be bigger at least playing at 1920 x 1080.
__________________
Intel-i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16g G.Skill 1666DDR3+256g Crucial-SSD+1-3TB Seagate+2-1TB-Samsung+1-640g- WesternDigtal+SLI-ASUS DIRECT CU II GTX-670+LG-12x Blurner+Logtech G9x-mouse+G-110-keyboard+Driving Force GT Wheel+Pioneer VSX-1020K+Polk Audio Speakers+LG-50"Plasma PM6700+Antec-P280+XFX 850w PRO Semi-Modular
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old October 13, 2012, 12:48 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Geneva - Switzerland
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks for the tips for the hardware to buy. It is good value for money! I do not understand why a screen with higher resolution gives more fraps. To my logic if a video card deals with 1280 x 1024 it is less pixels to process and fraps should be better ...
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old October 13, 2012, 05:30 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,882

My System Specs

Default

The fps will be higher on a lower res monitor, but the picture quality at that low of a resolution is very low and no matter how many fps it's running at it won't look as good as it could.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old October 13, 2012, 10:02 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,382

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bphilo View Post
Thanks for the tips for the hardware to buy. It is good value for money! I do not understand why a screen with higher resolution gives more fraps. To my logic if a video card deals with 1280 x 1024 it is less pixels to process and fraps should be better ...
It won't be higher frames, the difference between the new card and old card will be bigger.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XFX versus Sapphire HD 7770 StefanWylde Video Cards 1 February 28, 2012 12:13 PM
AM2+ versus AM3 Motherboards and CPUs, clarification needed superj CPU's and Motherboards 17 February 25, 2009 08:48 AM
Onboard Audio versus Soundcard mazabe Audio 10 May 9, 2008 05:21 AM
8800GTS 640MB (w/112SPs) SSC Edition VERSUS 8800GT 1GB ???????help!! elrond Video Cards 6 January 7, 2008 06:57 PM
1 line versus 2 whats the difference? dosmond Power Supplies 2 May 21, 2007 05:39 PM