Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old September 27, 2012, 12:06 PM
lelionmoddeur
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

really? why not? it should be able to double FPS in some games, or at least 80% more FPS, right?
and it would be 2GB video card,(1gb+1gb) its a 60hz monitor but all i want is 60 FPS,so i have 40 FPS (BF3) with single card ,i should have 60 with double right?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old September 27, 2012, 01:18 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,578
Default

card memory does not double.
at that resolution you won't see a 80% increase.
you want a increase? overclock your card but even then it won't be that big as your resolution is minor. heck I can run my 560ti at 1920 x1200 without issues.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old September 27, 2012, 02:03 PM
lelionmoddeur
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

ah ok but all games i play don't use more than 1GB of GDDR5, and i saw graphs about GTX 560 ti SLI improvements,anyway,i think you are right ,i saw guys running BF3 on ultra with 60 FPS with GTX 560 ti sli,so its more like a 1/3 improvement,but well,for some games it's almost double,my screen is not that small ^^ and well i prefer small screens for FPS competitions,better reflexes,for me,all i want is 60 FPS in all recent games,i think i can have them

You see? i have a 560 ti right now and no money for 350$ cards,i think all i can do is to SLI.. and i'd get nice performances anyway

(at the moment my card is overclocked to 900 mhz,not more for stability and durability reasons)
and of course ill downclock it to stock clocks for SLI ( watts reason)

btw i think X16 AA is so stupid and useless and FPS killing for the 500 series, i don't see difference with x8 and more^^
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old September 27, 2012, 02:09 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,578
Default

if you have 350 to spend buy a 660ti and sell the 560 or sell the 560 and put it towards a new 6xx series with more ram if your that worried.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old September 27, 2012, 02:16 PM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

If you are really dead-set on another card, check the buy/sell/trade section as I'm sure you can pick one up for a better price than buying new. But as others have suggested, adding a second 560Ti won't give you much of an improvement. Your screen doesn't have a high enough resolution to really get a decent FPS improvement from adding a second card.

edit: someone beat me to it...

Might I suggest you try sell the 560Ti, and use the proceeds to get a 660Ti. (I'm not much of a fan of multi card solutions.)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old September 27, 2012, 03:25 PM
lelionmoddeur
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

thanks for all your answers but well i went on Nvidia website and it says that GTX 560 ti SLI is 66 FPS average,with 660 ti ,its 62 FPS average and well,if i overclock the cards, i can get even better FPS,finally the power consumption is not enormous,ill prolly be able to overclock

and well ill buy a cheap GTX 560 ti , 160 euros,means that will be 380 euros for both cards and better FPS,i think its quite the same performance per dollar so well ill have more noise i know but i think ill have the 560 ti SLI,thanks for your help ;)
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old September 27, 2012, 06:56 PM
lelionmoddeur
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

and by the way, in 80% of benchmark tests,560 ti SLI its faster than 580,580 costs 450 euros,so for the same price,better FPS!,sometimes same,but sometimes 10 -15 more FPS
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old September 27, 2012, 08:05 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

You aren't looking at the 1680x1050 benchmarks, it'll be a 50% increase at most.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old September 27, 2012, 08:42 PM
Caldezar's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Burnaby
Posts: 1,687

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by supaflyx3 View Post
You aren't looking at the 1680x1050 benchmarks, it'll be a 50% increase at most.
And even then, it's a 50% increase to a framerate that's already over 60fps. It becomes pointless to go beyond this as you're already exceeding your monitor's refresh rate. You may even start to see screen tearing if you get too high.

My suggestion is to sink the money in to a higher res monitor to start. Then start looking at GPU upgrades.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old September 28, 2012, 04:32 AM
lelionmoddeur
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

i was looking at 1680x1050 benchmarks ^^ 80% 90% increase at most. look:

AnandTech - Bench - GPU11

i saw 1680x1050 benchs here


true ,i need a new screen,this one is kinda old,i'll probably get a new one soon ;)


EDIT : ok guys i finally took my final decision,ill buy another 560 ti ,then ill get a 1900x1200 screen to have more than the GTX 580 performance ;) that will be good,

do you know a cheap monitor (1920x1200) or other big resolution screen that is not rubbish?i don't want 120 hz, and for less than 200 dollars?

EDIT: i found that ,guru 3D is an awesome website :D
http://www.guru3d.com/articles-pages..._review,7.html

Last edited by lelionmoddeur; September 28, 2012 at 08:25 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
gtx 560 ti sli , psu , question

Thread Tools
Display Modes