Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2012, 06:20 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4
Default 6670 Memory clock problems

After installing my 6670 (amd radeon powercolor HD 6670 2gb) I am having a memory clock problem, the default is set to 500Mhz instead of the "supposedly" 1000Mhz on the box, after even trying to add 100Mhz to it via CatalystControlCentre, I am having screen issues, please help me fix this. Also the benchmarks are really bad (400 points difference with 3D mark) compared to the ones on the actual reviews with benchmarks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2012, 06:28 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,418

My System Specs

Default

Just a shot in the dark, but I'll bet it's normal and that what you're seeing recorded is similar to complaints that DDR was only running at half spec.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2012, 06:48 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Just a shot in the dark, but I'll bet it's normal and that what you're seeing recorded is similar to complaints that DDR was only running at half spec.
Wouldn't it be strange that the benchmarks are remarkably lower than the benchmarks that are on review sites.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2012, 07:01 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,418

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, you're right, it looks like it should be reading 1K. What about power settings? Have you tried running a windowed stress test to see if it increases under load?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2012, 07:08 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Yeah, you're right, it looks like it should be reading 1K. What about power settings? Have you tried running a windowed stress test to see if it increases under load?
I have heavily stressed it with Benchmark applications already, they don't show any change, I have already emailed AMD how long would a response even take?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2012, 07:10 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,418

My System Specs

Default

I doubt AMD is who you should be contacting. You should contact the manufacturer. (Powercolor)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2012, 07:16 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
I doubt AMD is who you should be contacting. You should contact the manufacturer. (Powercolor)
I also had another issue with crossfiring the 6670 with the APU, which also seemed to be very strange, I will just email them both I guess, thanks for helping me so far.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2012, 07:26 AM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

That's the correct speed you should be getting.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2012, 11:46 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,847

My System Specs

Default

unfortunately I think you bought a 6670 with very low memory speed. Looking on newegg there is memory anywhere from ddr3 1000,1200,1333,1600, 1800mhz all the way to ddr5 1000mhz (4000effective). I would bet that if its reporting 500mhz you have a 1000mhz version (its actually 1000 effective because its ddr). The reviews you are reading probably have faster memory.

It would be a faster card if you had gone with a 1gb version, but with higher memory speeds (especially if it was gddr5)
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2012, 04:59 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: midland, ontario
Posts: 519
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hiller741 View Post
I have heavily stressed it with Benchmark applications already, they don't show any change, I have already emailed AMD how long would a response even take?
Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
I doubt AMD is who you should be contacting. You should contact the manufacturer. (Powercolor)
hiller, find my posting in this thread section about rma'ing 7870/7950 cards ..... I have included in the thread the contact info for the power color rep out in california ... he'll help you as the brief few e-mails i've had with him where very plesant.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What are you overclocking ,Core clock or Boost clock elmorejohn46 Video Cards 4 November 20, 2013 12:24 PM
GPU Memory Clock??? BFighter Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 1 May 12, 2011 06:35 PM
HIS 5450 memory clock speed importpsycho Video Cards 1 December 6, 2010 09:00 PM
HD4870 Memory clock questions bottle Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 0 September 13, 2009 01:44 AM
What gets you more FPS, Higher GPU Core Clock or Memory bushwickbill Gaming 7 May 22, 2009 05:33 AM