Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2008, 08:17 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 294
Default 8800 gt problem in.....plz and thx

i am running an asrock p4vm890 with a p4 2.8 processor.

recently i tried an asus 3850 and had to send it back for temperature issues. after awhile i got an asus 8800gt.

i just tried it tonight and nothing happened. the system will for some reason will not boot at all. the fan on the card is running so its getting power. i know i have an issue with pcie1 vs pci2 and this card is pci2.. however the 3850 was pci2 ( i am told) and for the while it worked it was fine.

i set the motherboard to go directly to the pci express slot and still nothing. another funny is that the usb keyboard and mouse are duff too. i think this has to do with the fact that the system is not booting up to the point where they are powered.

i have read many posts where there are troubles with the 2 versions of pci but havent found one where the system wont boot.

could i have a fried card from the beginning.

a sidenote. when i got the card from ncix it had obviously been opened ( the box). and the seal on the static bag had also been broken. not sure what to make of that.

any udeas welcomed

thx for your patience

rob123
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2008, 02:27 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,417

My System Specs

Default

You should list the rest of the parts in your system.

I'm not into work today Rob, so maybe give me a shout after work and we'll get a look at it. (At the very least I can slave it into the test bench to verify that the card does or doesn't work).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2008, 04:07 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

What's your PSU? You may be short in Watts.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2008, 06:11 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,417

My System Specs

Default

Heh.....

I think he's got that hooked up to a new 750W PC P&C :)

Couple of things that might be going on here.... first is that he thinks it is an original PCIe 1.0 (no "a"), second is that there might be issues with the via chipset.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2008, 06:45 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 294
Default

yes, i have a month old pc power and cooling 750 watt supply.

i am finding that ss wilson is probably right. either the via chipset or the 1.0 (no A0 pcie slot.

rats rats rats

one step forward and 2 back

will let you all know how the test goes


thx for replies

rob123
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2008, 08:44 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rob123 View Post
yes, i have a month old pc power and cooling 750 watt supply.

i am finding that ss wilson is probably right. either the via chipset or the 1.0 (no A0 pcie slot.

rats rats rats

one step forward and 2 back

will let you all know how the test goes


thx for replies

rob123
you found your own problem
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2008, 08:49 AM
werty316's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 427
Default

As far as I know the 8800GT has been known for having problems with boards using a VIA chipset so you'll have to contact your board manufacturer (ASRock) for a BIOS fix and if they don't have a solution contact Asus for a updated BIOS else you are sunk.
__________________
If you can see Chuck Norris, he can see you. If you can't see Chuck Norris you may be only seconds away from death.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2008, 07:32 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 294
Default

thx to all for the replies.

it has been found that the culprit here is definitely the pcie slot. i mailed to asrock and they told me to go to the video card manufacturer who told me to go the the motherboard manufacturer.

instead of all the further fuss i obtained a gigabyte ep35-ds3r motherboard. not a real fan of passive cooling so i will hop over to another part of this forum to ask about cooling the chipset.

thx again
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes