Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2012, 07:19 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Georgia
Posts: 3
Default GTX 670 4gb or GTX 660 ti 3gb sli

I am new to this forum so I don't know if this question has been asked a bazillion times.My question is to run 3d vision surround gaming at the max settings in every game I play(max payne 3,BF3,BL2) should I get 2x gtx galaxy 3gb sli or 1 gtx galaxy 670 4gb.

Here is what my system is going to be.

Corsair c70 case(already bought)
Asus Maximus V formula(not bought yet)
Intel core i5 3570k(will be OC'ED)-not bought yet
2X8gb of gskill memory(not bought yet)
GTX galaxy 3gb sli or GTX galaxy 670 4gb(neither has been bought yet)
Corsair hx1050w(not bought yet)
Corsair H100(already bought)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2012, 08:08 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,075

My System Specs

Default

You didn't include the most important part. What monitors and resolution are you planning to game at?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2012, 08:45 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

Either way the question comes down to how much memory are these games going to need using 3D surround, something I'm not sure about. Obviously the twin 660ti's are going to have more power then a 670, at the cost of a gig of memory.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2012, 10:00 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,584

My System Specs

Default

You'd be better off doing the sli GTX 660s over the single 670 due to the amount of horse power surround gaming tends to use. The extra memory version of them is a good idea, you'll essentially be getting similar performance as the gtx 580 3GB version in sli.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2012, 04:13 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Georgia
Posts: 3
Default

I am going to be doing 3x acer GD235HZbid monitors.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2012, 06:57 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,714

My System Specs

Default

in my mind, surround 3d will need more than 2660's... I would go the 670, save a bit more then go dual..
The main constraint on the 660's will probably be memory bandwidth rather than actual memory..

Only real way to know is to try it or bench it... and I don't know of anyone benching dual 660's or 670's in surround 3d..
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2012, 07:21 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Georgia
Posts: 3
Default

Thx for the help guys.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2012, 08:04 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,065

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dzzope View Post
in my mind, surround 3d will need more than 2660's... I would go the 670, save a bit more then go dual..
The main constraint on the 660's will probably be memory bandwidth rather than actual memory..

Only real way to know is to try it or bench it... and I don't know of anyone benching dual 660's or 670's in surround 3d..
Gonna have to agree, I think having a wider memory bus on the card would be benificial if you are doing multi-monitor gaming.
Saving up for 670's would be prudent,

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes