Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2012, 03:49 PM
SneakySnake's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Waterloo
Posts: 292

My System Specs

Default Does Maxing Skyrim require more VRAM or power

I wanting to build a computer to max Skyrim, and by max I mean full draw distance on objects, trees, etc. I'm assuming that takes a ton of VRAM?

What sort of card am i looking at to do that? Any powerful 2 GB VRAM+ card? (660ti, 7950)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2012, 03:57 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,786

My System Specs

Default

Skyrim can use a ton of VRAM if you install the high resolution packs. But it definitely doesn't require it. I was easily maxing out my 3GB 7970 when I was playing it but I do not believe it helps all that much in terms of framerate.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2012, 09:58 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 427

My System Specs

Default

With 1 6950 2GB at stock, I could max every single setting except in advanced I had to change 'draw distance' to high or medium instead of ultra. Like that I would mostly get 60fps with v-sync, when walking around outside doing minor things.

In battles it would drop some, sometimes as low as 30-40fps when lots of magic effects were around. Not sure how 1GB vs 2GB compares. But skyrim is very easy on a quad-core anyway, works the GPU a lot more.

So 1 6950 2GB is good enough for most at 1080p.

And now with 2x6950 and the Hi-Res pack, I can set the 'draw distance' to ultra and outside is perfect. Haven't had to check fraps in ages, but it's always at least 50fps walking outside, and in battle outside it seems fine too, no lag, so its always close to 60fps too.

For my own curiosity next time I play I'll turn on fraps to check my fps.


Well I left Whiterun and headed north looking around 360deg all the time, only flickers off 60fps right around Whiterun itself. Thats more coding related I bet, just like in places of Markarth City its 30fps with 1 or 2 6950s

Fought the giants just NW of Whiterun with a bunch of magic types used, never moved off 60fps with v-sync on.

So for 1080p, 1 6950 2GB can almost max skyrim, 2 is overkill

and so 1 gtx560 1GB is alright I "guess", 570 is better, and 2x560 or 2x570 is overkill, assuming their 1GB can handle it, and I'm sure they can otherwise all 1GBers would complain
__________________
i7 2700k - 7950 3GB crossfire - 4GB 1866 CL8 - 1600p

Last edited by TedShackley; August 24, 2012 at 10:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2012, 03:49 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 427

My System Specs

Default

I've never played the game, whats skyrim????????
__________________
i7 2700k - 7950 3GB crossfire - 4GB 1866 CL8 - 1600p
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2012, 06:42 AM
BlueByte's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Maynooth
Posts: 515

My System Specs

Default

1 7970 OCed runs around 2-2.5GB usage on 5040 x 1050 on ultra settings. Whiterun as you come through the gate chokes down to 25-30 but that's the only place I have found it choke. Most place stays at vsync, in a couple of places 45-50 in heavy battles with large open spaces.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2012, 07:06 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,213

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TedShackley View Post
I've never played the game, whats skyrim????????
The latest Bethusa title in the morrowwind series. Came after Oblivion.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2012, 01:24 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 630

My System Specs

Default

My trifire 6950 2gig rig doesn't play skyrim up to my expectations of smooth 60 fps outside 100% of the time. I think it is because of my processor, the 8150.

So in my opinion get an i5 for skyrim, or better if you can afford the large amount of money for a small increase in single core performance after the i5.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Valve LINUX OpenGL Maxing FRAPS ( The Register.UK ) ZZLEE Reviews & Articles from the Web 11 August 7, 2012 05:10 AM
Vram gtx 570? frozenskipper Video Cards 4 December 3, 2011 03:25 PM
VRAM issue, is it bad? hal314 Troubleshooting 12 August 28, 2011 07:34 PM
VRAM Useage rjbarker Video Cards 12 June 30, 2011 12:20 PM
How Much RAM Does Windows 7 _Really_ Require To Run Optimally? listlurker O/S's, Drivers & General Software 51 August 24, 2010 06:47 PM