Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2012, 08:23 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 93
Default

look , i dont have any spare card , it may be the pci slot ???. but this psu is gold version and it is the most expensive 1000w in my country or should i have 1500w for this card this card require 700w or higher and i have 1000w gold which is the most quality in ocz
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2012, 08:48 AM
BigPhatPaulie's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 435

My System Specs

Default

you dont understand..... He is saying that even though the wattage is technically high enough it may still be a bad psu (or bad quality). No need to get angry at the guy. Also if its the slot for some reason thats still the Mobo at fault
__________________
FOR PONY..... that is alll
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2012, 09:20 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 93
Default

look , this psu is tested in many reviews with gtx 480sli and gtx 580sli and i think my card use lower power than those , the psu is working because the cpu led light in the case is on and the motherboard is on . but the card led is turned on and off , and if the psu is small for the card it may be getting hot because i had cougar 1000w bronze and it broke down but this problem doesnt happen and i know that the psu broke down because it was getting hoot but my psu now is very cool and that is the first time i have this problem when played sleeping dogs , i had phenom ii x6 1090t 4ghz before and it consumes more power than my i7 3770k but the power supply handled it without problem
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2012, 01:23 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,537

My System Specs

Default

Have you tried turning off SLI? Or checking the temperatures on load? If the temperatures on load are fine with prime95 but still crashes its most likely your PSU.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2012, 03:54 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,776

My System Specs

Default

I wasn't saying the PSU is dead or that it can't handle the 590.. What I was saying is there is a POSSIBILITY that it may be a psu issue..
One of the cables or connectors may have developed a fault..

It's a possibility and something to check to try and help you fix your problem..
Don't get ratty at people for suggesting this to try help you (unless they are repeating stuff you've said you've done)

If there is another computer in your house or you have a friend with reasonable machine you might want to try their GPU in your machine and see if it runs.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2012, 07:08 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 93
Default

i replaced psu cables and until now it works fine with playing games , the gpus temp is good . i dont know what this problem come from
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Could a hardware problem cause a driver problem? LaughingCrow Troubleshooting 4 January 19, 2012 10:46 AM
Steam connection problem (Problem Fixed) great_big_abyss Gaming 3 January 10, 2012 04:37 PM
Hard drive problem or Windows 7 Problem?! aeminence New Builds 4 October 13, 2011 06:46 AM
could this be a game problem or a video driver problem? Shadowmeph Troubleshooting 4 December 17, 2010 06:01 AM
Hardware problem or HAL problem? andynerd Troubleshooting 1 March 7, 2009 08:03 PM