Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2012, 04:18 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: India
Posts: 124

My System Specs

Post Can I upgrade to Zotac Gtx660ti.

My system spec:

cpu:phenom x6 1100t BE 3.3ghz.
mb:jetway hummer HA12-LF.
psu:coolermaster extreme power plus 650 watts(RS-650-PCAR-E3).
ram:GSkill ripjaws x 1333 mhz 8gb (4gbx2).
cpu cooler:hyper 212 evo.

and a question that what will be the difference between zotac,msi,galaxy 660ti.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2012, 07:22 PM
BigPhatPaulie's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 433

My System Specs

Default

reference cards? nothing really cept warranties and CS
__________________
FOR PONY..... that is alll
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2012, 08:45 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: India
Posts: 124

My System Specs

Default

it means i can upgrade to 660ti with out any bottleneck &is my psu good enough to handel it 24x7.
by the way what is CS?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2012, 08:48 PM
BigPhatPaulie's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 433

My System Specs

Default

I dont know about that one in particular but a 650 should be more than enough and I meant Customer service (sorry lol)
__________________
FOR PONY..... that is alll
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2012, 09:41 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Saskatoon
Posts: 162
Default

Your PSU should be sufficient for the 660ti.
Many of the cards currently available have slightly different clock speeds, as well as different bundles and aftermarket coolers as well. With your processor you shouldn't have to worry about your GPU being bottlenecked, and if you want to run it 24/7 make sure the case wiring is tidy, and your airflow is unobstucted.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2012, 09:44 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: India
Posts: 124

My System Specs

Default

Thanks Guys...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2012, 04:33 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,693

My System Specs

Default

If your worried about bottle-necking from the cpu, overclock it.. thoes are quite good clocking chip... find a how-to somewhere..
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2012, 01:22 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: India
Posts: 124

My System Specs

Default

may be i am thinking about sapphire 7950 3gb ddr5 because both prices quite same in india .
zotac amp edition 2gb ddr5 660ti vs sapphire 7950 3gb ddr5 which one is better according to you all guys.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2012, 03:47 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,693

My System Specs

Default

Prices will be fairly close together.. at single screen at up to 1920x1200 resolution you'll see no real difference (depending on game, some prefer different chips)

If your going larger resolution then the AMD is better but that one won't really be able to handle a 2560x1440 screen or multi-monitor set-up on it's own
and the support for sli is much better than x-fire anyway..
Really it's personal choice but I would be happy with either for a single card and more likely to go nvidia as they are more stable with their driver releases..

As I said.. personal preference. (P.S the ram doesn't come into play till you hit really big resolutions..)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2012, 05:44 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,849

My System Specs

Default

Not the best power supply in the world, but you should be good to go for the 660ti. You won't be bottlenecked by anything else in your system.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ZOTAC announces ZOTAC GeForce GTX 680 AMP! Edition and ZOTAC GeForce GTX 680 4GB Sam_Reynolds Press Releases & Tech News 0 May 8, 2012 10:21 AM
[WTB] Zotac GTX 470 AMP! lastsplash Buy/Sell & Trade 7 February 22, 2012 09:36 AM
ZOTAC Announces the New ZOTAC GeForce GTX 460 AMP! Edition FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 6 August 17, 2010 08:50 PM
ZOTAC Unleashes World's First ION Upgrade Kits FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 5 March 17, 2010 05:28 PM