Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2012, 10:16 AM
Gameman Advanced Kid
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Dual or Quad SLI graphics for a game like battlefield

if you were to use a card from the Geforce 6 to 9 series and set it up in dual or quad sli for battle field 3, which would it be?

im asking this because im thinking of doing that on the core i5.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2012, 10:56 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,208

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gameman Advanced Kid View Post
if you were to use a card from the Geforce 6 to 9 series and set it up in dual or quad sli for battle field 3, which would it be?

im asking this because im thinking of doing that on the core i5.
If you're gaming on a single monitor of any size, a single 670 will suffice.

If you're gaming on triple monitors of any size, dual 670s or 680s.

You don't need quad SLI for anything other than ePeen. Which is fine, if you have the money, btw...
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2012, 11:18 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,379

My System Specs

Default

Depends on the resolution... 1920x1080 I would go with a single GTX 670, 2560x1440 I would go with a single GTX 680 (maybe dual 670's if I had a 120hz monitor) and 5760x1080 or 1200 I would go with 2 680's.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2012, 12:08 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 164
Default

I think the question was about 6000-9000 series.

I'd probably think about 9800GTX's, maybe dual 9800GX2's.

I'm still not sure if this guy's threads are serious or spam.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2012, 03:32 PM
Phill's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Morden MB
Posts: 583

My System Specs

Default

GAK, it is really hard to give a great answer without knowing the resolution. That said I completely agree with JJThomp. I run 2560X1440 with a single 670 and IMO if BF3 was a game I wanted to spend a lot of time on I would buy another 670. One is just not enough IMHO.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2012, 04:41 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,379

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rommelrommel View Post
I think the question was about 6000-9000 series.

I'd probably think about 9800GTX's, maybe dual 9800GX2's.

I'm still not sure if this guy's threads are serious or spam.
If this is the case I probably wouldn't go quad SLI at all because the driver support will probably not be the greatest. Also even in SLI the scaling is pretty bad on anything other than 9000's so I would probably not use any of them for BF3.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2012, 05:41 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

I think arinoth ran 2 9800gx2's and tried playing BF3, he didn't succeed very well.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2012, 08:56 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 164
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JJThomp View Post
If this is the case I probably wouldn't go quad SLI at all because the driver support will probably not be the greatest. Also even in SLI the scaling is pretty bad on anything other than 9000's so I would probably not use any of them for BF3.
I'm not saying it's a good idea, just that if I was going to try quad SLI with older cards that I would get the fastest ones I could.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2012, 12:01 AM
Gameman Advanced Kid
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

i believe i should have said

"nvidia Geforce 6000 series graphics cards to Nvidia Geforce 9000 series graphics cards"

i am getting the 670. i just had a dumb idea of using older cards when i got a job. < that i should have also said in the first place.

i was expecting you guys to know this....guess i was wrong


sorry for the confusion. and i think i might use DUAL Geforce 9800gx2 graphics cards...unless i can set up QUAD physical 9800gx2s in SLI mode.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2012, 02:46 AM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

2 9800GX2 = quad SLI, so no you can't.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sapphire Announces New HD 6970 Graphics Card with Dual-BIOS and Dual-Fan Cooling Sam_Reynolds Press Releases & Tech News 1 November 1, 2011 11:50 AM
Battlefield Bad Company 2 - Graphics Glitching TokeR Gaming 10 March 14, 2010 01:30 PM
EA First Free online web game Battlefield Heros weblegend Gaming 2 August 7, 2009 09:43 AM
Dual or Quad? CactusJoe New Builds 11 July 2, 2009 06:43 PM
ati 4gb quad graphics card? renoracer Rumor Mill 10 November 7, 2008 07:04 AM