Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2012, 06:50 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 51

My System Specs

Default They don't make Evga 670SC anymore? How do I SLI?

I bought an Evga 670 superclocked the day they launched. Then, I read the stories about DOA cards before mine has even arrived! Luckily, my 670 has a different serial number than a batch of early failures. I run it overclocked to 1280mhz all day with no issues.

I kinda want to buy a second one...just because. I have the upgrade itch now after a few months. However, no one sells this card anymore, and I found out they are discontinued! What will one of these be worth used if they surface on ebay?

I don't really want two mismatched cards showing in my computer. I'm hoping the used value isn't so low NOW, that I couldn't sell mine for a descent price, then, buy that pretty Twin Frozr 670, or a 680 and sli in a year or two.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2012, 08:37 PM
BigPhatPaulie's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 439

My System Specs

Default

Really? thats odd.... probably sell for 100 less if i had to guess (one would hope) but thats a shot in the dark
__________________
FOR PONY..... that is alll
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2012, 08:56 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,840
Default

Mismatched? Just buy a standard EVGA GTX 670 and it will look the same.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2012, 07:35 AM
Pabz0r545's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,308

My System Specs

Default

I sold my EVGA 670 SC for 370 + shipping on here about a month ago.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2012, 08:35 AM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,126

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
Mismatched? Just buy a standard EVGA GTX 670 and it will look the same.
Agree. They will look the same. They will automatically clock to the slower card, but you can oc them
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950(unlocked shaders and OC'd), Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2012, 03:31 PM
EmptyMellon's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 436

My System Specs

Default

The egg has a 670 SC+ 4GB (Newegg.ca - EVGA 04G-P4-2673-KR GeForce GTX 670 Superclocked+ w/Backplate 4GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card). Or were you looking for the 2 GB version?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2012, 04:49 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: canada
Posts: 8

My System Specs

Default

As long as it is the same chip set it will work!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2012, 06:57 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 51

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EmptyMellon View Post
Mine is the 2gb version. I forgot to mention this.

Right now, I can play Max Payne 3, and Battlefield 3, with all settings maxed out. Maybe I'll wait until next generation to upgrade, since my 670 will likely play anything, on my single 1080 monitor, just fine for a couple years.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2012, 08:57 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Halifax
Posts: 27

My System Specs

Default

You have a pretty awesome system already. If it works for your needs don't do anything.
As for the value of the components like CPU, GPU they have pretty much short life span of a couple if years. you can now see 5seris GTx being pawned for around 125$ or so...its just how it is, no need to worry about that.
If your itch to spend is severe share your idea with your Wify or GF, money will disappear
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2012, 08:19 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 29
Default

flash the bios to the other card, though if they changed the ram chips and they cant handle the same timings you may have some instability with the card. worth a shot though if you wanted to keep it. also check the voltages/freqs and make sure they are within similar ranges.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
gtx 670 was for sale last night, but not anymore? Pabz0r545 Video Cards 4 May 9, 2012 04:26 PM
toilet is not draing anymore CTA Off Topic 34 December 22, 2010 06:57 PM
No bonus in Big Adv Wu's anymore? Arinoth HardwareCanucks F@H Team 5 February 7, 2010 01:45 PM
Don't want to fold anymore MarkOne Off Topic 17 January 15, 2010 02:31 PM
Can't boot x64 anymore!!! francois methot O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 August 20, 2007 06:06 PM