Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2012, 06:35 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,636

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by great_big_abyss View Post
Hmmm, it seems like it's no different than overclocking. My 7950's stock speed is 880MHZ directly from Powercolor, and I have it overclocked to 900MHZ....so what's the difference? If I reflashed my card, I'd actually be potentially LOSING performance due to the base clock being lower than my card's stock (and currently OC'd) state.

I admit though, my interest is piqued by the addition of the powerboost function with the new BIOS flash and drivers. I like the idea of increasing the powerboost function and letting the card self regulate depending on load.

Since it seems that my board is one of the reference board designs that this applies to, I may actually use the two-position bios switch that comes on my card for this reason. Warranty be damned, I'm an enthusiast!!!!!!!

EDIT: I just read that the warranty is only voided if the user has the BIOS switch incorrectly set during the flash. The RAGE3D website indicated that the switch should be in position 1. Sky, any insight on this? Have you heard the same? What has AMD told you? All liability is assumed by the consumer, of course, and not by you, the reviewer/advice giver.
I'm assuming that the powerboost function is the difference between the new bios and just overclocking a current card.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
  #22 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2012, 06:36 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 50
Default

Every 7xxx card has dual BIOS right? I really don't see what the big issue is. I've never heard of a 7xxx failing from the GE BIOS change at OCN, also many there are flashing their 680s to get more voltage.

I don't think its a big deal, thats just me though I guess. SKYMTL is spot on about availability, hopefully AMD isn't trying to fool people in that respect.
  #23 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2012, 06:40 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Sioux Lookout, ON
Posts: 54

My System Specs

Default

I flashed it on my 3 cards last night, and from what I can see is that the clock is higher, but so is the default 3D voltage my first 2 cards now run a 1.168 and the third card runs @ 1.059 (Before the flash the defaults were 1.031 and 0.904)
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme | Intel i7 3930k | Crucial 4x4Gb | OCZ Vertex 3 MaxIOPS 240GB | WD Velociraptor 1TB | Nvidia 680GTX SLI | Win8 Pro 64 | EK Supremecy | 2 x Alphacool XT45 360 | 2x EK - FC680 | 2x Liang DDC 3.25 | Swiftech Malestorm Res | Case Labs M8 |
  #24 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2012, 06:45 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,636

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by velias View Post
Every 7xxx card has dual BIOS right? I really don't see what the big issue is. I've never heard of a 7xxx failing from the GE BIOS change at OCN, also many there are flashing their 680s to get more voltage.

I don't think its a big deal, thats just me though I guess. SKYMTL is spot on about availability, hopefully AMD isn't trying to fool people in that respect.
It's really about the sequence of events more than anything else (and AMD's position on bios flashing responsibility). If they had released (and promoted) this bios upgrade for all present card owners a few weeks ago, they could reasonably request that reviewers compare the 660ti to results from those cards (if those current cards exhibited performance improvements). IMO that wouldn't be any different than asking reviewers to use the latest available drivers. In this case, it's more akin to sending out non-release beta drivers (which may never make it out to the public).

If AMD wants the cards with new bios' on them to be reviewed against the 660ti, they should send out review units once the cards are ready for public release, not request that reviewers use benchmarks from a currently non-retail card.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
  #25 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2012, 06:59 AM
kingnubian's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 305
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
We typically shy away from controversy. Not this time. This has nothing to do with overclocking.

I'll come out and say it: AMD lmost apulled the wool over everyone's eyes with the "GHz Edition" by claiming it would be almost immediately. That never, ever happened. It was simply a way to divert attention with a mythical product.

This situation has the same smell to it and I for one am not jumping onto the bait so quickly. I'm taking a wait and see approach instead of benchmarking a card that may or may not ever be available at the price AMD claims it will be.

IMO, what we have here is a situation very much like our refusal to benchmark an overclocked GTX 460 card during subsequent AMD launches. This differs in one major way though: NVIDIA's cards were available at the time. AMD's claims are nothing more than smoke and mirrors trying to divert attention from an upcoming card that may have them beat clean. That is until we see product on the shelves at the prices they promised....THEN we'll talk. :)

It's time for someone in the media to start talking straight, regardless of the party stepping over the line....be it Intel, AMD, NVIDIA or anyone else for that matter. This is just the first step.

Am I pissed with the BS being fed by these companies to readers and forum goers they think are naive enough to lap it up like eager puppies? Hell yeah. Enough is enough with the shady marketing tactics.
This has always been my favorite review/news site but now my respect has gone up yet another notch. Paper releases and reviewing products that the consumer has no chance of purchasing in the foreseeable future has made me so tired of companies and the many "Lemming" review sites that my bookmarks for said sites has been reduced to only a handful with Hardware Canucks at the top. I applaud the honest approach taken here.
__________________
GOD Is Good
________________________________________

Intel i7-2600K @ 4.8Ghz
Asus Sabertooth Z77
16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z (1866MhZ CAS9)
NZXT Kraken X60 CPU Cooler
2x Sandisk Extreme 240GB SSD (RAID 0)
Seagate 7200.12 500gig HD
Galaxy GTX660Ti 3GB
LG DVDR
NZXT Phantom 630 Case
Antec TruPower New 750W Power Supply

Last edited by SKYMTL; August 21, 2012 at 03:52 PM.
  #26 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2012, 07:04 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,636

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kingnubian View Post
This has always been my favorite review/news site but now my respect has gone up yet another notch. Paper releases and reviewing products that the consumer has no chance of purchasing in the foreseeable future has made me so tired of companies and the many "Lemming" review sites that my bookmarks for said sites has been reduced to only a handful with Hardware Canucks at the top. I applaud the honest approach taken here.
I honestly don't even mind the "paper releases" if a product is sent to reviewers for it's own review. In this case, AMD is asking reviewers to use "paper release" benchmarks in reviews for another manufacturers product... they know that the great majority of folks only look at the charts and thus wouldn't have a clue that the numbers don't represent an AMD card they can order off of the shelf.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
  #27 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2012, 07:32 AM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Tillsonburg, Ontario
Posts: 916

My System Specs

Default

I'm not sure what to do anymore lol I have 2 7950's and gave up my 560ti and 570 (both super clocked) plus cash for them. Starting to wonder if i should have stayed NVIDIA :(

Don't get me wrong these are great cards and work fine the AMD 7950's (mine are the Sapphire Dual Fan ones).
__________________


Comp1 (Mine) : ASUS P9X79 LE, 3960X, 16GB Corsair Vengence 1333, PNY 770 4GB, OCZ Vertex3 240GB, OCZ Vertex3 480GB, 600GB VelociRaptor, Corsair 1000HX, Cool Master Cosmos 2

Comp2 (Wife's) : ASUS Sabertooth P67, i7 2700K, 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1866, 1TB HD, 2TB HD, EVGA 660, Corsair 1000HX, HAF 922

Comp3 (Kids) : ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2700K, 8GB 1866 GSkill, Gigabyte 770, Crucial M4 120GB, OCZ Vertex3 240GB,1TB WD Black, Antec 850W, Antec 120
  #28 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2012, 07:35 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,211

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trayton View Post
I'm not sure what to do anymore lol I have 2 7950's and gave up my 560ti and 570 (both super clocked) plus cash for them. Starting to wonder if i should have stayed NVIDIA :(

Don't get me wrong these are great cards and work fine the AMD 7950's (mine are the Sapphire Dual Fan ones).
Don't worry about it. They're still mighty fine cards. While your 7950's MAY not perform as well as a GTX660, they still perform yards better than the old 560/570/580.

Look at it this way. If you had waited to replace your 560Ti and your 570, with a GTX660, you'd still be waiting even to this day. Meanwhile, you've been enjoying your 7950s for a couple of months now.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
  #29 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2012, 08:22 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,708
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by great_big_abyss View Post
EDIT: I just read that the warranty is only voided if the user has the BIOS switch incorrectly set during the flash. The RAGE3D website indicated that the switch should be in position 1. Sky, any insight on this? Have you heard the same? What has AMD told you? All liability is assumed by the consumer, of course, and not by you, the reviewer/advice giver.
This is the issue. AMD wants users to have the switch in Position #1 when flashing to the new BIOS. Flashing the Position #1 BIOS overrides the primary albeit writable BIOS, thus voiding your warranty.


Quote:
Originally Posted by velias View Post
Every 7xxx card has dual BIOS right? I really don't see what the big issue is. I've never heard of a 7xxx failing from the GE BIOS change at OCN, also many there are flashing their 680s to get more voltage.
Again, this is why I am up in arms about this.

First and foremost, not all HD 7950 cards have a dual BIOS switch. Next of all, some like Sapphire and Powercolor have reversed the BIOS position on their cards where the primary BIOS is stored in bank #2 rather than #1. Will this cause a serious issue? Who knows....
__________________

Last edited by SKYMTL; August 21, 2012 at 03:53 PM.
  #30 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2012, 08:23 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,103

My System Specs

Default

Anandtech has the updated BIOS posted in their launch article. Use at your own risk: http://images.anandtech.com/reviews/...Jul12_2012.zip
Closed Thread


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amazon Expected to Launch Tablet Soon, Expects to Sell 4 Million Units Sam_Reynolds Press Releases & Tech News 1 June 25, 2011 06:39 AM
Via Working on Quadcore Processor, Expects Q4 2011 Release Sam_Reynolds Press Releases & Tech News 1 May 12, 2011 07:00 PM
Intel Rolls Out Core i7 960 FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 7 October 20, 2009 06:02 PM
AMD rolls out 3GHz Opteron Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 1 April 9, 2007 06:11 AM