Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2012, 10:05 AM
Gameman Advanced Kid
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigPhatPaulie View Post
Ah okay THAT makes a lot more sense, as for the caps still sounds like you did something wrong installing them, probably the wrong type for the card or not installed properly
i got the caps replaced now. all three of them that are near the pwoer connector. windows works fine on boot up and the cards power connector is recognized by the nvidia control panel (isnt showing missing power connecting message).

but when i run games, they cause windows to BSOD and then it restarts the system. after restarting the computer, the screen will flicker and flash. right now im testing the specialists. seems to run fine on the card...except it shows weird lines and shapes popping up so im going to replace the capacitor that got blackened while it was being soldered in. (i can barely see the "negatives" on the side of the capacitor)
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2012, 04:29 PM
Gameman Advanced Kid
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

well at least i know how to solder!

i got the caps replaced and put in the computer. but i was unable to boot because bios kept randomly freezing. i finally decided to put in some careful thinking and realized i did do some things incorrectly.

READ THESE TIPS BEFORE DOING ANYTHING!!!

1. i was leaving the solder gun for too long on the board causing the board to heat up which made the capacitors go black....stupid me.

2. always make sure that, if your using a electric soldering gun likea weller, always make sure the tip and its "seat" or wahtever is pushed in all the way so you wont end up leaving the gun on for a long time.

3. your may be dealing with copper here so i suggest you scratch the area where the capacitors legs were at (that little hole that the caps leg goes though), dip the soldering wire in flux, and, while the soldering gun is hot, apply the wire to the soldering gun (not too much) and place it near the hole once you get the capacitor in its place.

i am never purchasing an evga product again. ever. if it says evga on it, forget it.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2012, 04:47 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,923
Default

live an learn . but electronics need more care and not some soldering gun that leaks voltage to your hardware

to go blindly is your own fault not EVGA's so if you don't know ask or find someone who's praticed in repair
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2012, 08:31 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,062

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gameman Advanced Kid View Post
well at least i know how to solder!

i got the caps replaced and put in the computer. but i was unable to boot because bios kept randomly freezing. i finally decided to put in some careful thinking and realized i did do some things incorrectly.

READ THESE TIPS BEFORE DOING ANYTHING!!!

1. i was leaving the solder gun for too long on the board causing the board to heat up which made the capacitors go black....stupid me.

2. always make sure that, if your using a electric soldering gun likea weller, always make sure the tip and its "seat" or wahtever is pushed in all the way so you wont end up leaving the gun on for a long time.

3. your may be dealing with copper here so i suggest you scratch the area where the capacitors legs were at (that little hole that the caps leg goes though), dip the soldering wire in flux, and, while the soldering gun is hot, apply the wire to the soldering gun (not too much) and place it near the hole once you get the capacitor in its place.

i am never purchasing an evga product again. ever. if it says evga on it, forget it.
Out of Curiosity why would you never buy EVGA again?
Because a part failed? It happens. Anything built by man fails, period.
I still buy G.Skill even though I have had to RMA In the past, it happens.

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2012, 09:07 PM
BigPhatPaulie's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 432

My System Specs

Default

Also that card is old. Like they dont make it anymore and it was midrange in its day... it happens its not evga's fault
__________________
FOR PONY..... that is alll
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2012, 09:19 PM
Gameman Advanced Kid
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

i guess it is my fault. but im still not buying evga after seeing what happened to those caps last night. scared me.

anyways i found that i also burnt the memory chips so even with the caps resoldered, it will boot now but it seems like it will still have problems because of what i accidently, due to my lack of soldering skills, did to the caps.

and again, i do admit NOW that its myself for going blind. ill just take this as a lesson. maybe i might get the card to work if i remove those burnt chips (i can barely see the text) maybe now. idk.

anyway ill just buy an BFG 7800 or 7900 from some other company. one that dosent use sacon caps.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2012, 10:04 PM
BigPhatPaulie's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 432

My System Specs

Default

It really isnt evga's fault the caps went... and sadly that card is gone should just get a newer card like a 8400 etc
__________________
FOR PONY..... that is alll
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2012, 11:04 PM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,715

My System Specs

Default

The thing is, EVGA uses the same caps as pretty much everyone else. Also, there was a period back in the day where they were tons of bad caps around so even some pretty good brand names had issues at one time or another.

Many of us have one or more EVGA cards that work just fine. Same goes for other brands too.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2012, 11:19 PM
Gameman Advanced Kid
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigPhatPaulie View Post
It really isnt evga's fault the caps went... and sadly that card is gone should just get a newer card like a 8400 etc
what a coincidance! i do have a 8400!

sadly, its PCIe not AGP. but if you have an AGP version ill take it IF YOUR OFFERING IT THAT IS. (MERCY ME MODERATORS!)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blown Bad Caps blitz Video Cards 9 January 10, 2012 03:04 AM
ASUS ENGTX580 DCII vs EVGA EVGA GeForce GTX 580 DS Superclocked MrSpeaker Video Cards 11 November 8, 2011 02:21 PM
EVGA Announces the EVGA GeForce GTX 580 Classified! onethreehill Video Cards 7 September 24, 2011 04:36 PM
[FS] Rampage II Extreme, GeForce 7600 GS OC 512MB AGP netforce Buy/Sell & Trade 0 March 11, 2009 05:38 PM
XFX 7600 GT 256 DDR3 AGP....just installed... Canadianguy Video Cards 9 December 1, 2007 09:12 PM