Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2012, 10:51 AM
the_guitarboy's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 76

My System Specs

Default Anyone ever used something like this? PCI-E x16 Flexible Extender Cable

PCIe x16 Flexible Extender Cable w/ Molex | eBay

Thinking it would be nice to help separate video cards that are sandwiched too close together. I was even thinking about mounting a 2nd GTX580 vertical inside my Fractal Arc Midi...why...well why not!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2012, 03:18 PM
BigPhatPaulie's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 439

My System Specs

Default

Im sorry but i just dont see the point to it unless your building something similiar to the falcon northwest Tiki or alienware X51 etc. I get what your saying to a point but how would you sli the cards if your trying to do so? or how would you securely mount the card?
__________________
FOR PONY..... that is alll
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2012, 06:06 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Quebec city
Posts: 98

My System Specs

Default

I've tried it, and it just didn't worked at all. I could boot into windows, but as soon as the graphic driver was loaded, the system would lock, even in safe mode. The same card in the same motherboard slot without the cable worked just right. My cables were pci-e 1.0, but it should not be the problem, as pci-e is backward compatible if i remember correctly.

Then i bought a motherboard which can fit four double slot cards.

Problem solved and a 950w power supply gone (a week after installing the new mobo and all gpus) in smoke

Maybe 3 gtx 460 and a gtx 275 co-op (5 gpus total) with a heavily oced i7 970 was too much for him...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2012, 08:09 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,680
Default

No Ground wire on the Molex? WTF?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 8, 2012, 08:53 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,066

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigPhatPaulie View Post
Im sorry but i just dont see the point to it unless your building something similiar to the falcon northwest Tiki or alienware X51 etc. I get what your saying to a point but how would you sli the cards if your trying to do so? or how would you securely mount the card?
I've seen it done for Folding and Bitcon Mining to allow you to increase the Maximum number of cards your board can support.

GPU Milking Machine


Other than that...

I guess its time for the OP to get a AX1200..

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 8, 2012, 09:54 PM
BigPhatPaulie's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 439

My System Specs

Default

Okay now THAT is fuggin cool
__________________
FOR PONY..... that is alll
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2012, 06:00 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 427

My System Specs

Default

I have my sound card on a extension cable so that it doesn't cook between my CF, not exactly the same but it works fine, but my rig is in a TV stand
__________________
i7 2700k - 7950 3GB crossfire - 4GB 1866 CL8 - 1600p
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2012, 10:34 AM
3oh6's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,052
Default

I've used a lot of extender cables for all kinds of fun GPU overclocking stuff. There can be some software/hardware issues, but I found it had a lot to do with the cable itself. When it works, it works seamlessly, but when it doesn't, it can be a bit of a battle. HTH
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PCIe x1 -> x16 Adapter Extender Cable MARSTG Video Cards 6 December 25, 2011 08:33 PM
New build - Gaming - Flexible budget [Help] RaptorX New Builds 2 June 26, 2011 05:36 AM
upgrading from 4890, roughly 300$ budget flexible schaezar Video Cards 8 November 4, 2010 05:17 PM
[FS] Xbox 360: Halo 3 ODST, HDMI AV Cable, VGA AV Cable (All Brand New) icarus2 Buy/Sell & Trade 1 December 20, 2009 11:30 AM
Crystal printing promises flexible electronics Supergrover Press Releases & Tech News 0 December 13, 2006 05:32 PM