Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 6, 2012, 08:50 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 14
Default Can someone please clarify GPU temperature/load relation please?

Hello canucks,

Info:
CPU = Phenom II X6 1055T @ 2.8GHz
GPU = HD Radeon 5870 1GB VRAM

To keep it short, I was running games at 1600x900 and GPU usage was around 60-70% with temperatures ~60-70 C.

Got a new monitor today, I'm running the same games at 1920x1080 and GPU usage is around 99% with temperatures ~50-60 C.

Can someone explain to me how increasing the resolution and the GPU having higher load somehow makes it run cooler?

PS: I'm using MSI afterburner to read usage/temps.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 6, 2012, 08:53 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,535

My System Specs

Default

Doesn't make a lot of sense to me unless ambient temps are around 10c cooler than they were yesterday. :)

I can see the temps staying the same as most games don't max out the GFX card so you're temps is being kept to a certain range by the fan profile.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 6, 2012, 10:33 PM
tangrisser's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Metro Vancouver
Posts: 163
Default

Two things that I can think of:

1. The MSI Afterburner is giving out incorrect reading
2. It might be the GPU usage/temperature wasn't high enough to kick up the fan to the higher RPM

Those are my speculation
__________________
Check out my SALE page
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 6, 2012, 11:06 PM
Adzsask's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SK
Posts: 831

My System Specs

Default

My guess is the card finally got hot enough for the auto fan speed to kick up the speeds.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 7, 2012, 12:07 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

Or the card is being saturated in such a way that it's not heating up as much. Which is a strange circumstance, but if the memory buffer is topped out, usage generally maxes out as well, but it's not actually 'processing' as fast, because it can't or it doesn't have to anymore (distance textures)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 7, 2012, 05:27 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 14
Default

Hmm very bizarre indeed. Is the anyway I could ensure GPU temp. readout from MSI afterburner is accurate?

I also forgot to mention I made a switch from fullscreen to windowed mode!

Last edited by Arinoth; July 7, 2012 at 07:08 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 7, 2012, 06:20 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canaduh
Posts: 376

My System Specs

Default

gpu can withstand much higher temps and manufacturer let them heat up to reduce the noise, without the fan speed and ambient temp into the equation it's hard to say


either way i wouldn't worry about it
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 7, 2012, 06:22 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,605
Default

Setup up custom fan profiles and see what happens.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 7, 2012, 11:48 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,786

My System Specs

Default

Window'd mode generally puts MORE strain on your GPU as it has to render both the game and your desktop etc.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 7, 2012, 12:26 PM
Galcobar's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Richmond, B.C.
Posts: 437

My System Specs

Default

True, but there's not a lot of activity on a desktop -- so while there are more pixels to render and thus more memory used, the speed required would likely not go up. And as LarkStarr suggests, if the memory becomes the limiting factor the processor will slow down. The switch to a higher resolution monitor and to desktop usage could well have saturated the memory and left the processor waiting.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about sound card placement in relation to video card. QuiZNo Audio 5 January 18, 2012 01:58 PM
Please clarify DELL U2410 dimensions Denis54 Display Units 3 August 4, 2010 09:07 AM
Clarify: Order of current SSDs.... CMetaphor Storage 21 August 10, 2009 01:06 PM
New Bulid - Clarify My Cpuz Info Please? rjbarker CPU's and Motherboards 23 March 23, 2008 03:31 PM
Full Load/Temperature Questions Boat Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 11 November 12, 2007 12:27 AM