Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2012, 06:19 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 35
Smile F@H with GTX 550 TI help!

hey,

I'm new to F@H and i could use some help. I'm running the V7 client and have the slot set for GPU. It says the status is running but the ETA is unknown and the progress bar doesn't move. Should i just wait for it to start? does it normaly take a while?

If anyone has any ideas please let me know.



Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2012, 06:28 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,564

My System Specs

Default

Change your view to Expert in the drop down menu and go into the Log tab to see if the client is running properly.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2012, 06:35 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 35
Default

I'm not sure how to check, to me it looks like everything is running fine. below is a copy of the log file.

*********************** Log Started 2012-07-01T01:34:07Z ***********************
01:34:07:************************* Folding@home Client *************************
01:34:07: Website: Folding@home - HomePage
01:34:07: Copyright: (c) 2009-2012 Stanford University
01:34:07: Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
01:34:07: Args: --lifeline 4148 --command-port=36330
01:34:07: Config: C:/Users/Family/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient/config.xml
01:34:07:******************************** Build ********************************
01:34:07: Version: 7.1.52
01:34:07: Date: Mar 20 2012
01:34:07: Time: 19:37:42
01:34:07: SVN Rev: 3515
01:34:07: Branch: fah/trunk/client
01:34:07: Compiler: Intel(R) C++ MSVC 1500 mode 1200
01:34:07: Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /Qdiag-disable:4297,4103,1786,279 /Ox -arch:SSE
01:34:07: /QaxSSE2,SSE3,SSSE3,SSE4.1,SSE4.2 /Qopenmp /Qrestrict /MT
01:34:07: Platform: win32 XP
01:34:07: Bits: 32
01:34:07: Mode: Release
01:34:07:******************************* System ********************************
01:34:07: CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2120 CPU @ 3.30GHz
01:34:07: CPU ID: GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 42 Stepping 7
01:34:07: CPUs: 4
01:34:07: Memory: 7.97GiB
01:34:07: Free Memory: 6.49GiB
01:34:07: Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
01:34:07: On Battery: false
01:34:07: UTC offset: -4
01:34:07: PID: 3632
01:34:07: CWD: C:/Users/Family/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient
01:34:07: OS: Windows 7 Home Premium
01:34:07: OS Arch: AMD64
01:34:07: GPUs: 1
01:34:07: GPU 0: FERMI:1 GF116 [GeForce GTX 550 Ti]
01:34:07: CUDA: 2.1
01:34:07: CUDA Driver: 4020
01:34:07:Win32 Service: false
01:34:07:***************************************** ******************************
01:34:07:
01:34:07:
01:34:07:
01:34:07:
01:34:07:
01:34:07:
01:34:07:
01:34:07:
01:34:07:
01:34:07:
01:34:07:
01:34:07:
01:34:07:
01:34:07:
01:34:07:

01:34:07:Trying to access database...
01:34:07:Successfully acquired database lock
01:34:07:Enabled folding slot 01: READY gpu:0:"GF116 [GeForce GTX 550 Ti]"
01:34:07:WU01:FS01:Starting
01:34:07:WU01:FS01:Running FahCore: "C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe" C:/Users/Family/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient/cores/www.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/NVIDIA/Fermi/Core_15.fah/FahCore_15.exe -dir 01 -suffix 01 -version 701 -lifeline 3632 -checkpoint 15 -gpu 0
01:34:07:WU01:FS01:Started FahCore on PID 4312
01:34:07:WU01:FS01:Core PID:4384
01:34:07:WU01:FS01:FahCore 0x15 started
01:34:07:WU01:FS01:0x15:
01:34:07:WU01:FS01:0x15:*------------------------------*
01:34:07:WU01:FS01:0x15:Folding@Home GPU Core
01:34:07:WU01:FS01:0x15:Version 2.22 (Thu Dec 8 17:08:05 PST 2011)
01:34:07:WU01:FS01:0x15:Build host SimbiosNvdWin7
01:34:07:WU01:FS01:0x15:Board Type NVIDIA/CUDA
01:34:07:WU01:FS01:0x15:Core 15
01:34:07:WU01:FS01:0x15:
01:34:07:WU01:FS01:0x15:Window's signal control handler registered.
01:34:07:WU01:FS01:0x15:Preparing to commence simulation
01:34:07:WU01:FS01:0x15:- Looking at optimizations...
01:34:07:WU01:FS01:0x15:- Files status OK
01:34:07:WU01:FS01:0x15:sizeof(CORE_PACKET_HDR) = 512 file=<>
01:34:07:WU01:FS01:0x15:- Expanded 124200 -> 501826 (decompressed 404.0 percent)
01:34:07:WU01:FS01:0x15:Called DecompressByteArray: compressed_data_size=124200 data_size=501826, decompressed_data_size=501826 diff=0
01:34:07:WU01:FS01:0x15:- Digital signature verified
01:34:07:WU01:FS01:0x15:
01:34:07:WU01:FS01:0x15:Project: 7623 (Run 0, Clone 0, Gen 12)
01:34:07:WU01:FS01:0x15:
01:34:07:WU01:FS01:0x15:Assembly optimizations on if available.
01:34:07:WU01:FS01:0x15:Entering M.D.
01:34:09:WU01:FS01:0x15:Tpr hash 01/wudata_01.tpr: 2670316001 3886309140 1596998964 762025976 2939393889
01:34:09:WU01:FS01:0x15:GPU device info: vendor=0 device=0 name= match=0
01:34:09:WU01:FS01:0x15:Working on Protein
01:34:09:WU01:FS01:0x15:Client config unavailable.
01:34:09:WU01:FS01:0x15:Starting GUI Server
01:34:10:Server connection id=1 on 0.0.0.0:36330 from 127.0.0.1
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2012, 06:38 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 35
Default

It show this:

*********************** Log Started 2012-07-01T01:34:07Z ***********************
01:35:19:WARNING:WU01:FS01:Detected clock skew, adjusting time estimates

could this be a problem?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2012, 08:55 PM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,190

My System Specs

Default

I'm no expert with Nvidia folding, but one of my folders uses a quadro (Nvidia) FX580. V7 client does not show any WU information (progress, TPF, reward, etc). However I know that it's still folding because I can see the numbers show up periodically on extremeoverclocking.com. Your card should still be folding, even if it is not indicated.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2012, 08:32 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,223

My System Specs

Default

Your log looks fine. I've seen the clock skew warning when I did VMWare folding, and it returned results just fine. When I fold on my 550Ti what I check for to see if the F@H is working is the heat and the GPU usage, which should be higher than playing any game

Note also there's a few nVidia drivers that F@H doesn't like. I can't find the post, but with my experience anything between the driver first released for the 550Ti and the 285 series of drivers (non-inclusive) did not work, although they failed immediately. The 285 and 295 series of drivers worked for me.
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 2, 2012, 06:36 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Alberta
Posts: 261

My System Specs

Default

Hi Lucasrivers,

Further down the HWC's forum home page is a Folding section dedicated to all the folders.

HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY - Hardware Canucks


I found a post that may help you out.

v7 client and GTX 680 update

Good luck and have fun
__________________
Code:
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2012, 05:35 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,393

My System Specs

Default update

My GTX 550 Ti not folding at allhere is my thread I started on the same issue some time ago. i was so frustrated with it that I simply gave up on it. too bad : from the screenshots, sometimes it was an amazing folder. this list https://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?...Bg&w=100&h=750 has no GTX550ti in it, some GTS450 but no 550s. You think is a coincidence? try messaging Arinoth, I got the card from him by then, maybe he remembers the right driver versions that were working fine

you might want to try either 266.71 or 267.59 set of drivers. These 2 seem to work well for the 550GTX. found it explained here GTX 550 Ti for folding
__________________

Last edited by MARSTG; July 4, 2012 at 03:59 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes