Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2012, 09:25 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,210

My System Specs

Default Nvidia's GeForce 640 Review

Review by The Tech Report

Looks like Nvidia made a boo-boo with the VRAM selection.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2012, 01:48 PM
BigPhatPaulie's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 433

My System Specs

Default

Yea and only OEM'S can get the ddr5 version.............
__________________
FOR PONY..... that is alll
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2012, 02:37 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Quebec - Quebec
Posts: 54

My System Specs

Default

Releasing a card that offer half the performance, for 90% of the price of an older generation card... I wonder who's going to buy this
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2012, 06:15 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,863

My System Specs

Default

I have seen a few reviews on the 640. Priced like a hd 7750 with performance of a 6670...fail. Pricing needs a substantial drop or the price needs to include at a minimum some GDDR5.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2012, 05:45 PM
EmptyMellon's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 434

My System Specs

Default

What gets me, is that the GT640 could easly be a low profile card and in the case of the PNY card, it is; yet they fail to provide a low profile mouting hardware. Very silly. How many sales have they lost because of it?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2012, 05:55 PM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,210

My System Specs

Default

If it was low profile, it would make a great HTPC card. But man, that memory. I can't believe they would put DDR3 on a card that is supposed to be light gaming grade.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2012, 11:52 AM
elmorejohn46's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Greenville,TX
Posts: 294

My System Specs

Default

What was nvidia thinking ,this card sucks for even a low end card ,you would be much better off getting HD7770 for $124 or a GTX 550TI for $119 ,this card should be priced at around $50.They could have done better then this ,I just hope people do the research before they buy it thinking that it is a new Kepler that it is going to be faster then the last generation of video cards,because they will be dissapointed.
__________________
Intel-i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16g G.Skill 1666DDR3+256g Crucial-SSD+1-3TB Seagate+2-1TB-Samsung+1-640g- WesternDigtal+SLI-ASUS DIRECT CU II GTX-670+LG-12x Blurner+Logtech G9x-mouse+G-110-keyboard+Driving Force GT Wheel+Pioneer VSX-1020K+Polk Audio Speakers+LG-50"Plasma PM6700+Antec-P280+XFX 850w PRO Semi-Modular
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2012, 05:50 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 26
Default

The gddr3 version sucks tbh, oem only for gddr5? What a waste.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes