Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2012, 07:44 AM
elmorejohn46's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Greenville,TX
Posts: 294

My System Specs

Default What are you overclocking ,Core clock or Boost clock

I can't tell that it makes much difference In MSI afterburner I can set it at +120 on the core and GPU-z shows 1035 on core and 1100 on boost but when I run a benchmark and look at GPU-z log files it show my clock went up to 1234.5mhz ,does it really manner what you overclock to, if the card is going to get the max it can when it runs .I can run it at default and my 3DMark 11 is P1497 and when I set it to +120 and raise my power limit and voltage ,I get a score of P16345,It hard to get a real score and know what your card is really running,if I set it to 1100mhz and it ends up doing 1234.5mhz
__________________
Intel-i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16g G.Skill 1666DDR3+256g Crucial-SSD+1-3TB Seagate+2-1TB-Samsung+1-640g- WesternDigtal+SLI-ASUS DIRECT CU II GTX-670+LG-12x Blurner+Logtech G9x-mouse+G-110-keyboard+Driving Force GT Wheel+Pioneer VSX-1020K+Polk Audio Speakers+LG-50"Plasma PM6700+Antec-P280+XFX 850w PRO Semi-Modular
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2012, 08:10 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,208

My System Specs

Default

hwc GTX670 Review - Overclocking

Overclock the boost clock. As is stated in the article, the boost clock is the maximum that the card will run at, not it's 'all the time' speed. There are a number of factors in whether the card will run in-game at the boost clock or not. Whether or not the TDP is being hit will determine whether the card will hit your full OC'd boost clock.

Sky managed an OC of 1259MHZ boost clock on a reference card, but he mentioned that in-game the card didn't always run at that speed.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2012, 10:27 AM
elmorejohn46's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Greenville,TX
Posts: 294

My System Specs

Default

So really you can't set a fixed clock score with these cards if you have your power limit increase and core clock increse they may run higher then you set it or they may run lower then you set it .It is really according to the load the GPU sees if it can run higher it will and if it can not and has a heavier load it may run lower then you set it.
__________________
Intel-i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16g G.Skill 1666DDR3+256g Crucial-SSD+1-3TB Seagate+2-1TB-Samsung+1-640g- WesternDigtal+SLI-ASUS DIRECT CU II GTX-670+LG-12x Blurner+Logtech G9x-mouse+G-110-keyboard+Driving Force GT Wheel+Pioneer VSX-1020K+Polk Audio Speakers+LG-50"Plasma PM6700+Antec-P280+XFX 850w PRO Semi-Modular
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2012, 11:04 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,208

My System Specs

Default

I think that's pretty much the rub of it...
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2013, 12:24 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by elmorejohn46 View Post
I can't tell that it makes much difference In MSI afterburner I can set it at +120 on the core and GPU-z shows 1035 on core and 1100 on boost but when I run a benchmark and look at GPU-z log files it show my clock went up to 1234.5mhz ,does it really manner what you overclock to, if the card is going to get the max it can when it runs .I can run it at default and my 3DMark 11 is P1497 and when I set it to +120 and raise my power limit and voltage ,I get a score of P16345,It hard to get a real score and know what your card is really running,if I set it to 1100mhz and it ends up doing 1234.5mhz

2 things

1) this is why boost sucks. What is with chip manufacturers these days? If you call overclocking for us and doing a half arsed job innovation >.< I detest it completely. If you want to make it easier for non overclockers to get more performance, run the clock at that speed to begin with?

2) go hardware canucks, I cant begin to understand why every site under the sun requires you to fill out this and that, do a backwards jig, a cartwheel, 3 somersaults, and THEN go to your email to confirm it was you who registered. (I thought that's what the CAPTCHA things were for?) Oh and the password... but I digress.

anyhow, you guys didn't make me and I /salute you for it!

ah, and I bumped a thread from june of 12 meh.

Last edited by lowfat; November 20, 2013 at 12:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crossfiring 6970 + 6950 core clock Prolab Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 0 August 2, 2011 06:11 PM
XFX ATI 6870 Core Clock weirdness... Dnabb10 Troubleshooting 1 November 23, 2010 12:26 PM
Clock Proggy? Dr_BenD_over O/S's, Drivers & General Software 13 January 29, 2010 10:30 PM
What gets you more FPS, Higher GPU Core Clock or Memory bushwickbill Gaming 7 May 22, 2009 05:33 AM
Pci-Clock help Dashock Troubleshooting 2 January 14, 2008 10:46 PM