Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2012, 03:02 AM
elmorejohn46's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Greenville,TX
Posts: 294

My System Specs

Default Did anyone else have trouble installing a GTX-670

With ny GTX-470's I had no prblems with games and benchmarks,but when I installed my two ASUS GTX-670 all it would do was frezze and flicker.I thought I had two bad cards ,I have nevr had a brand new card that was bad.I started to RMA then .My browers would even shut down.I new both cards could'nt be bad.I fineally broke down and did a clean install ,I had done tried resetting my CMOS but that did'nt help.But once I did a clean install and install everthing new ,they worked perfect.On 3D Vantage I scored P1635 and with my Three TRI-SLI GTX-470 overclocked to 800/1800 my score was P14305 and it sounded like a jet takeing off and with my two GTX-670 running them at 1200/6700 I could'nt hear them over my case fans.
__________________
Intel-i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16g G.Skill 1666DDR3+256g Crucial-SSD+1-3TB Seagate+2-1TB-Samsung+1-640g- WesternDigtal+SLI-ASUS DIRECT CU II GTX-670+LG-12x Blurner+Logtech G9x-mouse+G-110-keyboard+Driving Force GT Wheel+Pioneer VSX-1020K+Polk Audio Speakers+LG-50"Plasma PM6700+Antec-P280+XFX 850w PRO Semi-Modular
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2012, 08:43 AM
BigPhatPaulie's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 431

My System Specs

Default

I dont have experience with those cards but that doesn't sounds crazy to me. It's possible that being over 2 generations apart and vastly different the drivers just did not like the 670's
__________________
FOR PONY..... that is alll
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2012, 02:07 PM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: St.Albert, Alberta
Posts: 26

My System Specs

Default

I had no problem going from a ATI card to the GTX 670. Just installed new drivers and the way I went.

Maybe check under the heatsink and re-apply the thermal compound?
__________________



Home office: Asus Crosshair IV Formula, Phenom II X6 1100T Black Edition, Sapphire 6950 flashed to 6970, 16GB

Out of town: P8Z77-I Deluxe, Intel i5 2500k with H70, EVGA GTX 670, G.Skill Ripjaws 2133MHz 8GB, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB, Seagate 500GB.

Folders:
1. Evga X58 Classified 4way SLI, Intel i7 960, 3-EVGA GTX 480's, 12GB, Intel X-25M 80GB SSD
2. Evga X58 Classified 4way SLI, Intel i7 960, 1-GTX 480, 1-GTX 580, 6GB, Corsair 60gig SSD
3. P7P55D PRO, Intel i5 750, 2-EVGA 295's - Down..
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 23, 2012, 12:18 PM
elmorejohn46's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Greenville,TX
Posts: 294

My System Specs

Default

Why would I need to check under the heat sink my tempertures sre fine ,it just kept saying it lost responsive with the driver .I have always just uninstall the video drivers and ran HD5870's for a while then sold them and went with three gtx-470's and everthing ran just fine ,but when I install the GTX-670's I got flickering ,freezes and lost video responsive .I tried each card seperate and still had problems ,but I have never had a bad video card.I knew both cards could'nt be bad.I started to RMA because I could put my GTX-470 back in and it ran fine .I cleaned out all drivers even in my regedit.Fineally I just did a clean install since I was putting in a new 256gig SSD drive and after that it said I had a invalid copy of windows .That made me mad because I knew a did'nt have a invalid copy and fineally it pop on my screen when I was doing updates that I my serial number had been solen and be used by someone else .but it let me download something and install something so I could prove my windows was valid.But after that I install all my drivers and my two GTX-670's work perfect.So nice to have a quiet system.Even turning the fans all the up I still can't hear them .ASUS did a good job with thier DirectCU II system.I have'nt even seen it 70c with these cards even when overclocking them to 1230/6500
__________________
Intel-i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16g G.Skill 1666DDR3+256g Crucial-SSD+1-3TB Seagate+2-1TB-Samsung+1-640g- WesternDigtal+SLI-ASUS DIRECT CU II GTX-670+LG-12x Blurner+Logtech G9x-mouse+G-110-keyboard+Driving Force GT Wheel+Pioneer VSX-1020K+Polk Audio Speakers+LG-50"Plasma PM6700+Antec-P280+XFX 850w PRO Semi-Modular
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trouble installing W7 on Corsair force 3 tabasko Troubleshooting 6 June 29, 2011 01:17 PM
Help! Having trouble installing stock HSF i5 750 - on mobo.. Yamcha CPU's and Motherboards 10 September 24, 2009 03:09 PM
Trouble installing Windows 7 with New Raid 0 Array shayan288 Troubleshooting 38 August 29, 2009 05:11 PM
Having trouble installing Vista Zippoh Troubleshooting 18 December 11, 2008 05:01 PM
Trouble installing chipset drivers. Bakerrrr CPU's and Motherboards 5 December 1, 2008 07:34 AM