Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old June 14, 2012, 08:53 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,452

My System Specs

Default

Ya I stopped using FF well I do use the nightly version sometimes but I have been using SRWIron which is almost exactly like chrome but more secure.
I never heard about the FF issue before when I first read the title of this post I thought that it had to be something else
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2012, 12:34 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 427

My System Specs

Default

well I took my rig apart and used a tooth brush and vacuumed it all, not much dust at all on my silver arrow after ~1 year. I put fresh TIM on GPU2 and its temps dropped about 3-4 on idle.

As for in firefox, since I put the rig back together the temps have been normal, right now with the same 3 tabs open my temps are 38 and 30 vs ~57 and 55 the other night, and there's not that much ambient temp difference of course.

But disabling hardware acceleration fixed GPU1 temp, although it makes looking at big pdfs a bit slower in fixed foxfire, never noticed a diff any where else yet.

What ever was causing GPU2 to run at 800MHz has stopped too, now its just at idle 250MHz. However if I disable CF, GPU 2 goes to 800/1250, and its temp goes tooooooooo................leveled at 49 after ~7min with fan now at 28%
__________________
i7 2700k - 7950 3GB crossfire - 4GB 1866 CL8 - 1600p
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2012, 12:40 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

this has been an issue with firefox for a long time since they implemented it but only affects a small group of people.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2012, 02:35 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 427

My System Specs

Default

I don't get it, well its only 9C outside, and my thermostat is set to 18C, but after playing F1 2011 for 30m I had 57 and 54C, there really wasn't much dust on them yesterday when I cleaned, only used GPU1 since Feb, it had a bit on the fan blades, GPU2 had some on the blades and fins

after 20min in a BF3 32vs32 DM temps only hit 60 and 57, I'll try a full map......61 and 58 after about 20m of firestorm

I'm using MSI:AB 2.21 with custom fans set to 60% at 68C which is what I usually run at in BF3, my case is an open TV stand so it had free air flow before and after.....I'll reserve judgement until its over 23C outside again next week, but thats great temps all of a sudden

Maybe the little bit of dust blockage on the silver arrow was enough to direct a bit more hot air sideways onto the CF ??? buts its also running very cool at 27 32 27 28 idle, 41 46 44 44 max in BF3, I cleaned it and turned up its fans yesterday from 1.5PWM/C to 2PWM/C, used to hit ~55 in BD3
__________________
i7 2700k - 7950 3GB crossfire - 4GB 1866 CL8 - 1600p

Last edited by TedShackley; June 15, 2012 at 02:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
High temps tianfeng Troubleshooting 14 June 29, 2011 12:02 PM
Still very high temps or not? BFighter Video Cards 11 April 28, 2011 11:12 AM
Temps seem a little high... element291 Air Cooling 28 January 15, 2009 09:33 PM
High Temps BALISTX Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 20 July 14, 2008 05:32 PM
HDD, CPU temps too high? donimo HTPC Systems & Software 12 June 6, 2008 10:34 AM