Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2012, 05:24 AM
elmorejohn46's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Greenville,TX
Posts: 294

My System Specs

Default Running Two Different Brands of GTX-670

Can you run two different brands of the GTX-670 and does it work like the old cards did what ever was in slot PCIe one ,the rest of the cards would sync up and run the same.
__________________
Intel-i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16g G.Skill 1666DDR3+256g Crucial-SSD+1-3TB Seagate+2-1TB-Samsung+1-640g- WesternDigtal+SLI-ASUS DIRECT CU II GTX-670+LG-12x Blurner+Logtech G9x-mouse+G-110-keyboard+Driving Force GT Wheel+Pioneer VSX-1020K+Polk Audio Speakers+LG-50"Plasma PM6700+Antec-P280+XFX 850w PRO Semi-Modular
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2012, 05:36 AM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,537

My System Specs

Default

Yes different brands can run in SLI just fine, and the card with the lowest clock speed will downclock the second card to the same speeds.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2012, 05:38 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,591

My System Specs

Default

As long as they are the same architecture, which in this case all 670s are the same, then what supafly said above is completely true.

An example of different architecture would be the 560 and the 560 Ti, they cannot be sli'ed together.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2012, 09:20 AM
elmorejohn46's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Greenville,TX
Posts: 294

My System Specs

Default

well I lucked out I found another site that had the ASUS GTX670-DC2-2GD5 for $409 ,So many sites are just gouging the price to ridiculous prices .Most places wanted $475 up to $530 .I was'nt about to pay that much over retail .I don't mind paying $10 extra for a better cooling system on the card so it want be loud and run cooler.The DirectCU II plus it has a back plate.Two of these should run circles around my TRI-SLI GTX-470 setup plus be a lot quieter and it should use less power

__________________
Intel-i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16g G.Skill 1666DDR3+256g Crucial-SSD+1-3TB Seagate+2-1TB-Samsung+1-640g- WesternDigtal+SLI-ASUS DIRECT CU II GTX-670+LG-12x Blurner+Logtech G9x-mouse+G-110-keyboard+Driving Force GT Wheel+Pioneer VSX-1020K+Polk Audio Speakers+LG-50"Plasma PM6700+Antec-P280+XFX 850w PRO Semi-Modular
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2012, 07:16 PM
bigFOIG's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 426

My System Specs

Default

If one is overclocked, and the other isn't, then the faster one will be clocked down to the weaker card. It will work though nonetheless.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 14, 2012, 04:14 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 31
Default

elmorejohn46,

It's always good to get the exact same card models from the same brand as in your case. Things to keep in mind also if you have encountered any problems with SLI :

1. Despite being the same model from the same company, sometimes the same video cards are not made equally. One maybe more stable than another card or one may perform better. Of course it is out of your control in terms of manufacturing, but something to keep in mind if you do have problems and may need to return one card or try the following method below to diagnose or solve.

2. I know this second fact also which I can state for reference or to help others if they ever encounter this problem. Their SLI configuration, if mix matched with another card from another brand and probably has a different clock speed, can have some problems where the frames per second will drop alot. If this is the case, test each card individually first, replace the SLI bridge if you really suspect a problem, and finally this is the MOST important, try putting the "higher clocked" card in the upper Pci-e slot instead of the bottom ones. One person I sold a Gtx 680 had this problem and I suggested he put the "higher" clocked Gtx 680 in the upper slot and the lower clocked, different brand one to the lower Pci-e slot. And voila, problem solved!

P.S. bigFOIG, Good luck with your BST sales!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2012, 05:29 AM
elmorejohn46's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Greenville,TX
Posts: 294

My System Specs

Default

These ASUS GTX670-DC2-2GD5 DIRECT CU II are the same modle and are clock the same.I have never had any judder with any or my SLI set-ups, from ATI 9800 to my TRI-SLI GTX-470's setups.I don't see any problems with these cards.I started to get GTX-680"s ,but looking at benchmarks I could"nt see spending the extra money.Besides the ASUS GTX670-DC2-2GD5 DIRECT CU II has a great cooling system on them.I think I will be happy with them.Plus after selling my GTX-470"s,my two GTX 670"s only cost me around $$360 or $180 a piece.
__________________
Intel-i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16g G.Skill 1666DDR3+256g Crucial-SSD+1-3TB Seagate+2-1TB-Samsung+1-640g- WesternDigtal+SLI-ASUS DIRECT CU II GTX-670+LG-12x Blurner+Logtech G9x-mouse+G-110-keyboard+Driving Force GT Wheel+Pioneer VSX-1020K+Polk Audio Speakers+LG-50"Plasma PM6700+Antec-P280+XFX 850w PRO Semi-Modular

Last edited by elmorejohn46; June 15, 2012 at 05:40 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can you mix brands of RAM? fireXtract RAM 4 December 19, 2011 02:42 PM
SLI GTX480 Different Brands? Beastylemon Video Cards 5 October 6, 2011 07:29 AM
5850: Between Brands inTaiwan Video Cards 4 July 15, 2010 05:08 PM
Crossfire different brands? btecanada Video Cards 4 May 6, 2010 01:20 PM
Psu brands what to look for? upcoast604 Power Supplies 45 March 12, 2010 12:28 PM