Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2012, 07:20 PM
JoeOnePack's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: GTA
Posts: 216

My System Specs

Default Windforce 7970 vs Windforce 670

I just picked up a Windforce GTX 670 yesterday. a Windforce 7970 popped up for the same price.

What would you choose and why? I plan on OC'ing it. I will also be using a 2560x1440p monitor.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2012, 07:43 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 600

My System Specs

Default

I would think the 7970 will perform better overall once you start overclocking it.
The 670 however might be quieter because of the nature of that GPU.
If it's the same price and you don't think you'll ever go SLI/CF, I'd probably go for the 7970 because of the additional VRAM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2012, 07:54 PM
BigPhatPaulie's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 425

My System Specs

Default

For the same price? Kinda hard to say but the 670 is as fast until you OC then it falls a bit behind but not nearly enough to make you change your 670 to a 7970
__________________
FOR PONY..... that is alll
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2012, 10:28 PM
JoeOnePack's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: GTA
Posts: 216

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigPhatPaulie View Post
For the same price? Kinda hard to say but the 670 is as fast until you OC then it falls a bit behind but not nearly enough to make you change your 670 to a 7970
Even for the extra 1GB Vram?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2012, 06:29 AM
BigPhatPaulie's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 425

My System Specs

Default

I personally haven't read into it that much but I think 2gb is more than enough for one monitor. I would just keep the 670 unless its somehow too slow or you actually use all the ram on the card
__________________
FOR PONY..... that is alll
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2012, 10:49 AM
Pabz0r545's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,301

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeOnePack View Post
Even for the extra 1GB Vram?
I'm no expert but I believe the VRAM is not a proper judge? Maybe for multi monitor it is but I don't know. I'm just saying this because for example a 6970 has 2gb of vram and a gtx 570 has 1.28gb where as they give roughly the same performance and are in direct competition with eachother.

On a side note why is it that Nvidia's less VRAM performs as well as AMD's more VRAM?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2012, 11:36 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,190

My System Specs

Default

You would only need 3GB of VRAM if you're running 3 or 6 monitors. For a single monitor, even a 27" or a 30", 2GB will be more than enough video memory. Hell, even 1GB is most likely enough for any single monitor (30" might be pushing it though).

Amount of video memory is NOT indicative of card performance. I just bought a 5450 that says 1GB on the box, but in actuality the card has 1/20 the performance of a 6850. So in otherwords, even though it's 'a 1GB video card' it's actually incapable of running even the most basic game. Another example: the GTX680 2GB blows the 7970 3GB out of the water in almost every metric. The only place it might fall short is when running two or three of them together in order to drive three or six monitors.

You want to look for is the number of graphics cores, ROPs, and texture units, as well as the overall efficiency and power consumption of the card. Look at the reviews to determine which card suits your needs best.

GTX670 Review

However, since you've already purchased a 670, all this should be moot point, right?
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2012, 05:38 PM
JoeOnePack's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: GTA
Posts: 216

My System Specs

Default

Well, its only moot until I sell it and buy the 7970.

I do plan on running 3 monitors, but only the Catleap 1440p for gaming. Is this a game changer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by great_big_abyss View Post
You would only need 3GB of VRAM if you're running 3 or 6 monitors. For a single monitor, even a 27" or a 30", 2GB will be more than enough video memory. Hell, even 1GB is most likely enough for any single monitor (30" might be pushing it though).

Amount of video memory is NOT indicative of card performance. I just bought a 5450 that says 1GB on the box, but in actuality the card has 1/20 the performance of a 6850. So in otherwords, even though it's 'a 1GB video card' it's actually incapable of running even the most basic game. Another example: the GTX680 2GB blows the 7970 3GB out of the water in almost every metric. The only place it might fall short is when running two or three of them together in order to drive three or six monitors.

You want to look for is the number of graphics cores, ROPs, and texture units, as well as the overall efficiency and power consumption of the card. Look at the reviews to determine which card suits your needs best.

GTX670 Review

However, since you've already purchased a 670, all this should be moot point, right?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2012, 08:27 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,190

My System Specs

Default

It's only a game changer if you're gaming on three large monitors (27-30"+). If you're running desktop on 2 monitors, and gaming on your center monitor, you'll be fine. You won't even come close to utilizing all of your Vram.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buy Gigabyte 7970 Windforce for $600 or wait? bconngeminil.c Video Cards 8 January 31, 2012 09:57 AM
Asus 6970 DirectCU II vs. Gigabyte 6970 Windforce 3X sakage.shinga Video Cards 10 January 19, 2012 12:34 AM
7970 clshades Video Cards 4 January 17, 2012 10:27 AM
Gigabyte to Introduce HD 7970 Windforce 3x, Clocked to 1GHz SKYMTL Video Cards 0 January 8, 2012 08:03 PM