Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2012, 12:08 PM
fishingfanatic's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamilton Ont
Posts: 1,248

My System Specs

Smile Physx

Ok folks I need help. Never set up a dedicated physx card b4.

I'll be trying it on my daughter's system. Specs are: 980x ES base clock 2.4 oced to 3.07.

Ultra chiltec cooler, Asus P6X58D-E mobo, 6gbs of OCZ 1333 ram, Kingston Now SSD for OS.

Main card is an EVGA GTX 570. We have a GT 520 to use for physx.

I've tried to find help online and even the Nvidia site doesn't have the info I need. Waiting for a response from

support.

I figured the experts on here could help me a little quicker. Simply need a site that explains how to set it up.

Thanx in advance!!!


Edit: Just got a reply from Nvidia Support. WOW, that was quick....

I could still use any helpful info, just in case.


Wow, Do I feel f#%^#g stupid.


What a difference. Had to do it twice, as it picked up the hardware but wouldn't recognize it????

Pulled, re-installed, recognized on 2nd installation??? wtf. At least it's working!

Mods plz delete this silly thread.

Last edited by fishingfanatic; June 4, 2012 at 12:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2012, 12:42 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,972

My System Specs

Default

I think a GT520 is likely too slow to pull off PhysX. I am willing to bet your framerate will actually be lower than w/ just the GTX570 alone.

I am not able to get my GTX680s to POST so I can't tell you exactly where in the Nvidia control panel the PhsyX options are. But it should give you a choice on which card you want to to the PhsyX processing on.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2012, 12:57 PM
fishingfanatic's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamilton Ont
Posts: 1,248

My System Specs

Smile Physx

Thanks LF. Going to run #D Mark 11 and see.

Hope you get those 680s running cherry. Shouldn't take you too long with your knowledge.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2012, 01:38 PM
BigPhatPaulie's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 434

My System Specs

Default

Yea a lot of users have found that running a separate physx card isn't all that beneficial. A single 570 will most likely do better than the 570/520 combo. However its still a cool idea and let us know how it works both ways if possible?
__________________
FOR PONY..... that is alll
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2012, 04:26 PM
Bungwirez's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 449

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
I am not able to get my GTX680s to POST.....
This make me sad
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2012, 08:18 PM
fishingfanatic's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamilton Ont
Posts: 1,248

My System Specs

Smile Video Cards

Well I ran 3D and got the same results with the 520 in place and out.

I had to run it using an old monitor as the tvs were occupied. Not sure how much dif that would make, as the old monitor is a mere 1280x1024.

Thought I got rid of that piece of c$@p. Guess it came in handy after all. Time to hunt down a decent monitor.

I did continually receive error messages with both scenarios so I have to contact Furmark.

That should be interesting.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2012, 09:14 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Tillsonburg, Ontario
Posts: 914

My System Specs

Default

Maybe dumb question but since I have a red team card (7950) is it possible to still use an nvidia card for physx Thanks!
__________________


Comp1 (Mine) : ASUS P9X79 LE, 3960X, 16GB Corsair Vengence 1333, PNY 770 4GB, OCZ Vertex3 240GB, OCZ Vertex3 480GB, 600GB VelociRaptor, Corsair 1000HX, Cool Master Cosmos 2

Comp2 (Wife's) : ASUS Sabertooth P67, i7 2700K, 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1866, 1TB HD, 2TB HD, EVGA 660, Corsair 1000HX, HAF 922

Comp3 (Kids) : ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2700K, 8GB 1866 GSkill, Gigabyte 770, Crucial M4 120GB, OCZ Vertex3 240GB,1TB WD Black, Antec 850W, Antec 120
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2012, 10:05 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,758

My System Specs

Default

Possible yes.. Have a search here there is a few threads about it I believe.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2012, 06:29 PM
fishingfanatic's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamilton Ont
Posts: 1,248

My System Specs

Smile Physx

Ok folks. I like the idea of physx, and the 520 just isn't cutting it just like Lowfat mentioned it would.

Though I have a 570 in that pc for the main card, what would you recommend for a physx card?

There's a 450ti available, would that be good enough?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2012, 06:44 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,514

My System Specs

Default

Even an old 9800gt should cut the mustard
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PhysX Wurmer Video Cards 9 January 6, 2011 05:16 PM
PhysX r0k0 Video Cards 8 January 23, 2010 08:00 PM
PhysX help Varroa Video Cards 2 December 18, 2009 11:15 AM
Physx kendallcschm Video Cards 0 December 6, 2009 06:29 PM
PhysX with ATI? ToXic Video Cards 43 August 13, 2009 06:42 AM