Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2012, 08:02 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 19

My System Specs

Default Afterburner or Evga precision with 680?

Hi guys, been lurking around for a while and finally stopped being lazy and signed up Anyway my question is, is anyone using afterburner to monitor/overclock their 680's or strictly sticking with Evga precision? The reason I ask is it seems to me the monitoring side of afterburner is a bit nicer, but maybe that's because I haven't figured out how to run precision in the background and have it monitor my temps. All feedback is welcome. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2012, 08:08 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fort St. John, BC
Posts: 1,217

My System Specs

Default

I have no complaints about MSI afterburner now that I know how to overclock the 680. Just make sure you use the most recent one.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2012, 08:47 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 19

My System Specs

Default

You using the beta version? And can you overclock as easily with afterburner?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2012, 09:20 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fort St. John, BC
Posts: 1,217

My System Specs

Default

Probably the beta version... not sure after updating it 3 times though :P Yeah, I can set the max possible core boost, overclock memory, do fan profiles, set power target up to 132%, and I haven't played with the option of voltage unlocking. Sadly I was only able to get a 100 Mhz overclock on the core without crashing in BF3... sigh... something not right or just sucks with my card.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2012, 09:22 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 19

My System Specs

Default

HA, cool, I'll try the beta out. Could just be BF3 crashing in general, happened to me twice last night. Sometimes origin is just a real gem :P
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2012, 09:57 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fort St. John, BC
Posts: 1,217

My System Specs

Default

Nah, it's from overclocking. It would crash within minutes of overclocking past +110 core boost. Disappointing since the review sample SKY got hit 147 Mhz no problem. Memory has no issues going higher though, which really helps the cards in surround.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2012, 10:16 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,579

My System Specs

Default

I've had absolutely no issues with the MSI Afterburner whatever beta version that's out right now.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2012, 01:48 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 19

My System Specs

Default

Cool thanks guys, I'll go back to using that instead
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2012, 02:09 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Acton, Ont
Posts: 878
Default

what kind of numbers is the 680 pushing?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2012, 05:46 PM
crazyea's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Surrey, BC
Posts: 160

My System Specs

Default

I really like the evga utility.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EVGA Precision and GTX 480's kruzn4evr O/S's, Drivers & General Software 9 July 3, 2010 04:07 PM
nVidia has EVGA Precision, ATI has...? Arinoth Video Cards 5 April 15, 2010 01:05 PM
eVGA Precision 1.9.1 r0k0 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 12 February 12, 2010 06:08 PM
EVGA Precision v1.8.0 Update FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 1 August 19, 2009 10:04 AM
EVGA Precision - Crysis element291 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 12 January 28, 2009 03:41 PM