Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2012, 09:12 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,385

My System Specs

Default

Afterburner is generally the recommended program on these forums.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2012, 10:04 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,784

My System Specs

Default

The new precisionX looks to be based off the exact same base (riva tuner) with a different skin. Compare both the options/settings and the OSD settings to see if you agree with me. :)

The biggest benefit I see to afterburner over precisionX is the real time graph which if it's there in precisionX I can't for the life of me find it.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2012, 01:03 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 38
Default

I love Afterburner. PrecisionX has such a cramped display in comparison. Logging in Afterburner is awesome.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2012, 02:25 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ontario
Posts: 43

My System Specs

Default

I have to agree...
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2012, 08:49 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 19

My System Specs

Default

Well fired up afterburner again last night and all is well. I just like the interface a little better and the monitoring side of it. Just as easy to overclock in afterburner, and saving profiles seems less finicky. So happy camper here. Thanks again guys. EVGA does look nicer for sure though They seem almost identical besides the GUI on them. Just could never seem to get my profiles to stick or not reset in EVGA.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2012, 08:52 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 19

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
The new precisionX looks to be based off the exact same base (riva tuner) with a different skin. Compare both the options/settings and the OSD settings to see if you agree with me. :)

The biggest benefit I see to afterburner over precisionX is the real time graph which if it's there in precisionX I can't for the life of me find it.
HA, yep this is exactly the question I was asking. And yep you're exactly right, different GUI and the exact same utility in the settings FYI I also finally figured out how to monitor with precision, you just have to double click on the performance monitoring graphs on the bottom and it opens up. Only thing is it's huge on screen, and is a real time graph with no max values shown. So I'm stickin with afterburner. Thanks again guys.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2012, 08:02 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 25
Default

Do none of you get the red screen of death when using EVGA precision monitoring? I got 2 red screens using Precision X.

Afterburner does not seem to cause the red screens.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2012, 12:37 AM
Galcobar's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Richmond, B.C.
Posts: 437

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
The new precisionX looks to be based off the exact same base (riva tuner) with a different skin. Compare both the options/settings and the OSD settings to see if you agree with me. :)

The biggest benefit I see to afterburner over precisionX is the real time graph which if it's there in precisionX I can't for the life of me find it.
They are both based off RivaTuner -- Unwinder, RivaTuner's author, has been entirely clear about that. For that matter, if you look at the on-screen display server application both are actually labelled (on the UI) as RivaTuner Statistics Server technology. Though, EVGA's new skin might have altered that, I haven't used Precision since I got my GTX 480 because Precision didn't offer voltage adjustments at the time.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EVGA Precision and GTX 480's kruzn4evr O/S's, Drivers & General Software 9 July 3, 2010 05:07 PM
nVidia has EVGA Precision, ATI has...? Arinoth Video Cards 5 April 15, 2010 02:05 PM
eVGA Precision 1.9.1 r0k0 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 12 February 12, 2010 07:08 PM
EVGA Precision v1.8.0 Update FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 1 August 19, 2009 11:04 AM
EVGA Precision - Crysis element291 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 12 January 28, 2009 04:41 PM