Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2008, 04:34 PM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,235
Default Stability testing GPU O/C

Just wondering how long ATItool artifact scanning has to run error free before I can call it a stable clock? I read some where that 4 minutes is a very good indicator since they have found that if it goes that long error free then it'll go forever. So far my experiences seem to support that but I want to run a longer test just to make sure.
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2008, 04:44 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,411

My System Specs

Default

Longer is always better to ensure stability.

After my experience with overheating VRMs on a Sapphire 1950pro I always do at least 1/2 hour on my gpu as it sometimes takes the voltage ccts a while to overheat (on the sapphire it was 18 minutes under load).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2008, 05:06 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

It all depends on the cooling method. When I check a GPU with AtiTool, I keep a close eye on the temps, both GPU and case. If the clocks are left untouched, that the temps have stabilized and still no errors are found, then I call it stable. Usually takes about 10 minutes + 5 minutes of stable temps.

If I raise the clocks, it's just a matter of repeating the testing process.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2008, 08:22 AM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,235
Default

I had it running for hours and hours so the temps were stabilized, it actually took about 30 to 40 minutes to get there mind you it was a very small increase past 15 minutes worth. Maxed out @ ~47C.

The clocks that I settled on I found that it it would get an error about every 45 to 60 minutes, so that's what, one errant pixel about every hour? I can live with that. OTOH VRAM clocking was a complete no go. Any "worthwhile" increase would start corrupting the fuzzy box and inevitably snowballed into a system crash. I only have those stick-on ransinks and two of those were cut down because of interference with the tubing from the Maze5. I wonder if better cooling would make any difference.... Somehow I doubt it.
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2008, 11:39 AM
cdn_Madrach's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Miramichi, New Brunswick
Posts: 631
Default

Maybe position a fan to blow on the ramsinks. Without a fan on your gpu you've already lowered the airflow around them unless your case airflow blows accross them. My 1900's with switech blocks and ramsinks used to heaten up alot because of lack of airflow. I put a small fan in front of cards to blow across them and now they are fine. Just a thought.
__________________
Intel e8400
Asus P5q pro
Mushkin Redline 4gb
Silverstone Strider 1kw modular
4870x2
Ocz Vendetta 2
Top deck Tech Station
Samsung dvd
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2008, 12:26 PM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,235
Default

The video card gets a reasonable amount of air from the fan on the rad just below it as you can see in the pic. You can also see how much I needed to trim the ramsinks to make room for the tubes. I might try to make a one piece cooler for the vram but it appears that most can get too far past 1000MHz with Qimonda Ram and mine is 1010MHz stock so maybe there isn't anymore to be had. I wish I had of recorded the ram type before I stuck on the ramsinks.




__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2008, 01:59 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

I must say - again - how your case looks: a million bucks.

As for your Vram, just jerry-rig a small fan next to the sinks, and bench again. I don't think that the airflow coming from the mid-case rad is enough to cool the sinks. It's quite far actually.

Try it, you never know.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2008, 02:54 PM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,235
Default

Yeah on second thought maybe i'll do that. If it does turn out to make a difference then I'll look into doing something more permanent for vram cooling.
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2008, 03:36 PM
cdn_Madrach's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Miramichi, New Brunswick
Posts: 631
Default

If it does work ... one of those antec spotcool fans would do the trick. Oh and I agree with Charlie...awesome job on the build.
__________________
Intel e8400
Asus P5q pro
Mushkin Redline 4gb
Silverstone Strider 1kw modular
4870x2
Ocz Vendetta 2
Top deck Tech Station
Samsung dvd
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2008, 05:29 PM
vinister's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 297
Default

I have nothing useful to add other than you make me wish I had bought the huge cosmos instead of my teenie tiny hush. And great job on the build it looks perfect ;)
__________________
Mobo: DFI 790X-M2R
Proc: AMD PHENOM X3 720
Ram: OCZ Platinum 2X 2GB @ 1066
VIDEO: 3 x Visiontek HD3870
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes