Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2012, 04:38 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,607

My System Specs

Default Weird Galaxy GTX 680 "problem"

Well since I've moved I've noticed when I turn my system off all of the "case" fans, either plugged into the mobo or the psu still run at a very low speed/brightness.

This occurs even if the PSU is unplugged from the wall. I tried to see if it was getting power over ethernet for some odd reason, nope. Turns out if my monitor is plugged into the primary DVI slot in the GTX 680, it powers these fans, unplug it and they completely lose power. I'm not sure if this is a driver issue or what the hell it is, as I've NEVER seen a monitor cable power anything on my computer before.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2012, 05:03 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,002

My System Specs

Default

Thats just about the strangest thing ive ever heard of.

Try a different PSU, check for grounding problems then try pulling the whole thing from the case and seeing if it still does it. Can't think of anything else right now - too strange.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2012, 05:12 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,607

My System Specs

Default

I don't know how it would be the PSU if it's completely unplugged from the wall, it's supplying no power. Hell I even unplugged the mobo power connector too and it was still going.

It's not even in a case, it's in a tech bench so there's no metal whatosever to contact it.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2012, 05:13 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,906

My System Specs

Default

Try a different monitor. :P


Seems very strange.. Did you mean you moved your PC or since you moved to a 680?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2012, 05:14 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,607

My System Specs

Default

Moved the PC
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2012, 05:16 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,906

My System Specs

Default

Wasn't doing it before for definite(with the same hardware)?

If it wasn't I'd say it something wrong.. Something came loose or is shorting somewhere

Might actually be worth trying a different monitor or use a different DVI slot.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2012, 05:30 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,607

My System Specs

Default

I have both DVI slots populated, it's not the 2nd slot as I left that plugged into my 2nd monitor and it wasn't doing that. Just the primary one.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2012, 05:33 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,570

My System Specs

Default

Does it happen if you unplug the PCI-E connectors and only plug fans into your PSU?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2012, 05:36 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,607

My System Specs

Default

I haven't tried that but remember the fans are running when the psu is unplugged from the wall.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2012, 05:39 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,906

My System Specs

Default

A psu can hold quite a large charge for quite a time after it's been un-plugged
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do i know if my "Drive Controller" is running in "AHCI mode"? Teo3201 Storage 2 October 8, 2011 10:54 PM
strange "all closed ports" problem CTA Troubleshooting 0 March 27, 2011 12:42 AM
BIG heat problem with "good" cooler kendallcschm Video Cards 12 September 11, 2010 11:36 AM
Strange "Copy Protection" problem Bullterrier Gaming 6 December 9, 2009 05:31 AM
Is "tearing" a result of a videocard or RAM problem? Gameplaywarrior Troubleshooting 16 October 20, 2008 05:30 PM