Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2012, 05:10 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,577

My System Specs

Default

Yes I know, however I unplugged the mobo power connector too.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2012, 05:39 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,679

My System Specs

Default

Have you tried it with a single monitor on each DVI port? if it happens with 1 monitor and not the other then I'd suggest you get your monitor checked out..

If it happens with both.. well, calling galaxy support might be an option.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2012, 05:22 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,842

My System Specs

Default

Does it do this if there are no monitors plugged in?
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2012, 06:58 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,577

My System Specs

Default

So... it turns out that it's the first DVI port on my Samsung SA850 monitor that's doing this. Plugged into the second dvi port on it and into the primary of the card and it now longer is powering the fans on the system. So I'm guessing something went wonky with my first DVI port on my monitor eh?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2012, 10:37 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,679

My System Specs

Default

RMA it.. :)
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2012, 10:58 AM
Adzsask's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SK
Posts: 831

My System Specs

Default

I would for sure RMA that monitor, can't be good when it is supplying extra power to your motherboard.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2012, 11:25 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,679

My System Specs

Default

Is that one of the 27" pls panels?

A bit jealous if it is..
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2012, 02:36 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,577

My System Specs

Default

Yes it is Dzzope
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2012, 02:55 PM
NyteOwl's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 905
Default

I'd be tempted to RMA both the monitor and the card. The monitor shouldn't be back-feeding voltage to the video card, and the video card shouldn't be passing it along to the system bus.
__________________
Obsolescence is just a lack of imagination.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2012, 06:45 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,842

My System Specs

Default

Sounds kind of crazy. Atleast you were able to trouble shoot and bypass the root problem.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do i know if my "Drive Controller" is running in "AHCI mode"? Teo3201 Storage 2 October 8, 2011 09:54 PM
strange "all closed ports" problem CTA Troubleshooting 0 March 26, 2011 11:42 PM
BIG heat problem with "good" cooler kendallcschm Video Cards 12 September 11, 2010 10:36 AM
Strange "Copy Protection" problem Bullterrier Gaming 6 December 9, 2009 04:31 AM
Is "tearing" a result of a videocard or RAM problem? Gameplaywarrior Troubleshooting 16 October 20, 2008 04:30 PM