Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2012, 06:16 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,662
Default

Here's the experience I had when pairing up two HD 7970 cards for the GTX 690 review. As you'll see in the review:

- Witcher 2 Enhanced Edition: black screens after 30 seconds in-game
- Skyrim: Shitty scaling and microstutter galore
- Metro 2033: odd flashing around the image's edges
- Wargame EU Conflict: random crash to desktop

In the end, it is up to you but personally, I wouldn't use a Crossfire system.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2012, 06:59 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,922

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
Here's the experience I had when pairing up two HD 7970 cards for the GTX 690 review. As you'll see in the review:

- Witcher 2 Enhanced Edition: black screens after 30 seconds in-game
- Skyrim: Shitty scaling and microstutter galore
- Metro 2033: odd flashing around the image's edges
- Wargame EU Conflict: random crash to desktop

In the end, it is up to you but personally, I wouldn't use a Crossfire system.
I know crossfire has issues, but I would think the 6970 drivers would be more mature and have less issues. That said I have not done it so I can't say for sure one way or another.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2012, 08:45 AM
ultraman7k's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 527

My System Specs

Default

Hmm..sounds like a lot of issues for minimal gain?

The only reason I was considering it was because unless I land in some money, I won't be upgrading my GPU till probably the next gen, or even the one after that.

I was thinking maybe the 2nd 6970 (used) would be a good enough bump to frame rates so I could stave off performance losses.

That being said, I could probably go and sell my 6970, save the ~$200 for the 2nd card and put it towards a 680gtx?

It would feel so weird going from AMD to NVIDIA considering I've used AMD for so long, except a minor blip where I used a 8600gt for a couple weeks.

Side question, does the 680gtx have 4 monitor support, or is it only 3?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2012, 08:46 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,662
Default

The GTX 680 has 3 monitor support + an accessory display. So in reality, it can output four parallel signals.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2012, 12:47 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,786

My System Specs

Default

Yes 4 monitors, 3 can be in game the 4th is desktop only..
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2012, 08:30 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,386

My System Specs

Default

I'm gonna try the crossfire thing anyway only so I can say I did. MY entire system is AMD so I'm hoping for better results. This is based on other friends with similar systems and reporting no serious issues. I will be happy to post the results here in a couple weeks if you are willing to wait that long.

cheers.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2012, 04:21 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,589

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond007 View Post
I know crossfire has issues, but I would think the 6970 drivers would be more mature and have less issues. That said I have not done it so I can't say for sure one way or another.
Hahaha, you'd think that but AMD has horrible track record with quality drivers. Hell when I bought and got my HD6870s back when they launched AMD didn't even have official drivers for them. I was running beta drivers for half a month as they were the only drivers that supported the new cards.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2012, 04:26 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,786

My System Specs

Default

Good luck with it. Hope your happy :)
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2012, 05:19 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,386

My System Specs

Default

I can afford to try so wutever. Guess we shall see!
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old May 16, 2012, 05:10 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,386

My System Specs

Default

welp I only tried one game so far but it works fine. 3dmark was fine too. I haven't seen any micro stuttering people keep complaining about. As I like high FPS for FPS games I set everything on High in bf3 HBAD off (easier to see baddies) its around 120fps in the wide open 180ish fps in the hallways or inside buildings.

Zero micro stutter. I haven't check any other games yet as I don't have time right now but I'll try later tonight hopefully.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can you crossfire clshades Video Cards 1 September 28, 2011 09:07 AM
Crossfire??? bvsbutthd101 Video Cards 10 December 2, 2010 06:29 PM
Crossfire WTF? Squeetard Video Cards 29 October 22, 2008 04:29 PM
HIS 4850 ICEQ4 Turbo crossfire or normal HIS 4850 crossfire? lanken123 Video Cards 6 October 7, 2008 09:47 PM
crossfire Vs SLI enzeo Video Cards 7 December 19, 2007 10:55 PM