Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 27, 2012, 09:57 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 52
Default Odd Dual GPU Question

I have a HTPC and right now I have am using a GT430 to provide audio and video to my screen and amp. I have a very odd question as I am not sure if it will even work but I am sure someone here knows. I have a 3D TV but my amp uses HDMI 1.3a so in order to use 3D I need an HDMI going to the amp and one going to the TV. I did a quick check and to my surprise I have not found just a HDMI sound card. I know auzentech makes a card that has HDMI out on it but its $200. So my question is could I buy a cheap GPU with HDMI out and send all my audio out that card to my amp and have my GT430 send out video to the 3D TV? Basically have 2 mismatched cards one for audio and one for video, would it work?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 27, 2012, 11:49 PM
WhippWhapp's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 187

My System Specs

Default

Xonar HDAV1.3
__________________
I rub and whack and choke and stroke!

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 28, 2012, 12:06 AM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

Yes you can do that, but a similar option would be just to use optical audio, that way you won't need a second card if your motherboard has it.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 28, 2012, 09:54 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 52
Default

Optical can't output DTS HD Master Audio or Dolby True HD audio. Thanks WhippWhapp still a bit on the pricey side considering for $30-$40 I can can get a video card with HDMI out.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2012, 06:24 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,918
Default

JohnHenery what sound card using or onboard sound ?

what setting on HT amp set at linear PCM or Dolby bitstream

Last edited by KaptCrunch; April 29, 2012 at 06:35 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2012, 07:07 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaptCrunch View Post
JohnHenery what sound card using or onboard sound ?

what setting on HT amp set at linear PCM or Dolby bitstream
Right now I am using the HDMI out from the GT430 for both audio and video.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2012, 05:26 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 52
Default

It's been a while and sorry to bring up this old post but I thought I would come back and post what I did just in case some one else has this problem as well. You may have to have a graphics card that allows DVI to output audio, like my GT 430 does. I have the DVI going to my amp using a DVI to HDMI cable and the HDMI cable going to my TV all on single GT 430, you can also do it the other way around but it didn't work for me. After that make sure you setup you display as an extended desktop. Now for the 3D settings open Nvidia control panel go to the 3D settings and run the setup. After that all you have to do is enable the 3D resolution when you want to watch 3D content and turn it back to reg 1080p HD when done. That is all you need to do, no several hundred dollar audio card to get the HD Blu-ray sound nor do you need an additional GPU.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The 120mm fan question (dual-fan) CMetaphor Air Cooling 2 March 21, 2012 05:42 PM
dual pump question again clshades Water Cooling 9 December 3, 2011 09:42 PM
nVidia dual monitor question Squeetard Video Cards 2 January 14, 2009 11:16 AM
Dual Display question.... SiDiX007 Display Units 3 November 20, 2008 10:32 PM
Dual boot question SpateD O/S's, Drivers & General Software 17 March 8, 2008 05:11 PM